Yes, yes…forever yes

A year ago today, April 2, I was arriving home from a much needed girls weekend. I left town on Friday after meeting my boyfriend for a glass of wine at a local restaurant. We said goodbye with hugs, kisses and I’ll see you on Sunday.

I arrived at my cousin’s house on the east side of the state around six o’clock and we went to a small quaint bistro for dinner. After dinner we did a little dancing at a close dance bar and drank the night away with fun conversation and laughter.

The next morning we woke up and before I headed further down state, we went to breakfast at a place called Tony’s. The same place my dad asked my mom to marry him.

After breakfast, and a stop to visit our grandparents’ graves, I began my hour and a half travel to my long time friends’ house. I enjoy my time in the car. I feed my addiction of music and sing to my heart’s content. I am alone, I am a great singer! I arrived at Amie’s around three o’clock and we catch up. I hadn’t seen her and her husband in maybe 3 years. I’ve known her since kindergarten, so often a lot of time passes, but it never shows. After a much needed catch up, I freshen up while Amie prepares dinner of homemade pizza’s and salad.

Before dinner I phone my boyfriend to let him know all is good and I’m safe. He answers but is quick and has to go. He’ll call me back. I do recall that I wondered what he could be so busy, it did cross my mind, but I thought no way so I didn’t think much of it. After that, another long time friend arrives and we are carried away with eating and chit chat.

My boyfriend calls me back just as we heading out to a bar. He lets me know he’s waiting for my brother to pick him and that they are having a guys night, he loves me and be careful he says.

I am smitten.

The four of us head out and it turns into quite the eventful night. Very fun.

Sunday morning I headed home. I arrived home around one, and my boyfriend was taking a nap. He woke up and we decided to nap together. Later, when we woke up, I made tacos and he only ate one. This is strange, I remember thinking. If you know him, he never eats one of anything. After the tacos he told me he had to take care of a couple of things and he’d be back later.

Monday after work I came home to find him already there. It was nice outside so I asked if he would like to go for a walk in the park. He jumped at it. Huh, I thought, he’s awfully eager. We took Star to the park and I told him stories about the weekend. When I asked if he was ready to head home, he didn’t want to, but since I did, he said ok.

On the way home I remembered that I was out of hairspray. I told him I had to run out to pick some up.

Dusk was just setting in as I pulled out of the drive so when I arrived home, it was close to dark. I walked in the house to find it dark so I made my way towards the bedroom. There was my boyfriend lying in our bed with just candles lit around the room. I joined him in the bed, I started cracking our inside jokes and being my normal funny self that I do by ruining anything romantic because it makes me laugh. He laughs at me but then his face turns serious and I straighten up, and for a strange minute even with the candles lit I thought, he’s going to break up with me. He starts by asking me if I knew where he went last night. I respond no. He continues, I went to talk to your dad. I told him how much you mean to me, that all I want to do is make you happy, and that I’ve known you were it for me since before we started dating.

I start to think for what seemed like fifteen minutes but was probably twenty seconds, is this it? Is this the proposal? Not like is this it, in a way that’s not good enough, but like HOLY CRAP THIS IS THE PROPOSAL so listen carefully, I want to remember every second. This is it! And then he paused for a long time. Five seconds maybe, enough time for me to think, no this is not the proposal….he doesn’t have the ring yet. And then he pulled it out from underneath the pillow. And he said to me (sans the getting down on one knee thing which could not be performed as he wanted for good reason which is TMI and will not be disclosed here), “Will you be my wife?”

And I said yes.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  April 2, 2007

    Awww…what a romantic. Fun reading, thanks for sharing. Made me smile. MS.

    Reply
  2. A Novelist

     /  April 3, 2007

    How positively sweet! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  April 3, 2007

    I think you should do a B-Dog post next. With your fun pics 🙂

    Reply
  4. EMOB

     /  April 3, 2007

    AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW. Happy Engagiversary!!! LOL

    Reply
  5. Amie

     /  April 3, 2007

    I’m so glad I was part of getting you away from home that weekend! Love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

