Where I lay down and play dead….

Friday I did not arrive home from work until 7:00 PM. I repeat 7:00 PM. I did leave work at 6:00 but I had to pick up my dad and drive him to his car all the way across town. Doesn’t sound like it’s that far but when they have the only highway that is the straight shot across town under construction and down to one lane since April, it is. I started out angry but told it to subside because gosh, who really cares?

I arrived home starving and made myself black bean tacos with avocado. Damn, I do heart avocados.

I went to bed at 10:00.

Saturday morning I woke up early and walked the dog that is a Star. After that Sweetlips and I headed across town to watch our favorite 9 year old cheer on those elementary school football players. That was a treat I enjoyed very much. It was also then that I made the decision that if we do have kids and it’s a boy, no one will be pushing my child down and doing belly flops on his face. At which then Sweetlips decided if we do have a boy…the aforementioned will be the reason I’m not allowed to attend his extracurricular activities. Not 5 minutes later, the rescue team was out on the field because some boy had just broken something, we think his wrist. My point exactly.

After arriving back at the house I did some surface cleaning and wrapped the shower gift. I also decided that my house needs a deep, deep cleaning and I have tentatively penciled that in for this Saturday morning between the hours of 10am and 1pm. I did not put up the Fall decorations because Sweetlips used the veto on me. He’s making me wait until this weekend. I didn’t put up too much of a fight because really? I would like the deep cleaning to be done first before I put up anything.

Saturday night we went to the couples shower and I proceeded to get intoxicated. On accident, mind you. I started out with my usual, Dirty Martini. Usually, I drink one martini as an appetizer and then move on to beer. But on Saturday wine sounded so good to me. I go through these phases with beer and wine. And I do the same thing between red and white wine. I proceeded to drink 4 glasses of wine, 3 of them before dinner which only consisted of 2 pork lions and 5 small sweet potatoes. I am not complaining, the dinner was fab, but just not enough to soak up all that alcohol.

When our bar tab hit 50 bucks, we bailed. This is unlike us but clearly, it was enough for me.

With a few friends in tow we headed back to our house. Someone made a comment and I said I would die if I heard it again so I proceed to show them how I play dead by laying face down on the cement. That’s embarrassing to even type but hey….who hasn’t been there? I even have it on film! When I started to see double, I decided it was time to go to bed, so I did. Sweetlips insists that I shooed people home so I could go to bed, but I don’t recall this. Not recalling it doesn’t make it not true, I suppose.

On Sunday I woke up with a horrendous headache. After drinking a gallon of water, I went grocery shopping. And because my husband complains I don’t cook dinner anymore, I have promised him that every Sunday I will make a nice Sunday dinner with rolls and everything. So I made Swedish Noodles, which apparently don’t really exist because when I attempted to find this picture it was actually called Hamburger Casserole Bake but whatever.

This was a recipe I received for one of my wedding showers, I guess official recipe titles are not my problem. All I know is when I go through the recipes it makes me happy that I have them.

And now I wish I had brought the leftovers for lunch. Okay, no I don’t. I don’t.
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

