One DVR please! Check!

In case you are keeping track of everything I want, I’ve got one of them and let’s scratch it off the list together! You can just scratch it off imaginarily like, that’s okay. I trust you, yep just scratch it right off.

Is it scratched off?

Good job. I GOT A DVR!!! Ahem, okay actually I’m on a waiting list but it’s coming, it’s coming people! Until then I do have video on demand and have upgraded myself in the cable world. I’m expecting big things to happen now internet! I have personally read blogs out there that have quoted, “my DVR has changed my life!”. Does this DVR clean, cook and work out for me too? I’m sure it’s going to need to do something else for me besides provide me hour and hours of couchy potatoness? However, if that’s all it does, I’m okay with that too.

Some of my readers could be thinking, “now wait a dog gone minute beingmccrary, what happened to the budget you have mentioned?” Well, actually our budgeting is going very well and we have managed to save a nice chunk of money in September. But because I want to live guilt free for the rest of my life, I have decided to give up Netflix. It’s an even trade off and now I’ll actually get to catch all the tv shows while they are playing instead of waiting for them to come out on dvd because I’m so busy. I rarely use Netflix for movies. I am overflowing with joydom!

Here’s a new recipe I am dying to try. One hold up is Sweetlips does not like anything pumpkin. I know, lift your jaw up, I reacted the same way. But his words exactly were, “I’m not picky about any kind of food, but there is something about pumpkin!” I agree, there is something about pumpkin, you can eat it and you can carve it into faces that glow….what’s not to like?

So this is when I say, where my girls at? You know who I’m talking to, want to come over for dinner to try this?

Salt
1 pound whole wheat penne rigate
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (EVOO)
3 shallots, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, grated
2 cups chicken broth
One 15-ounce can pure pumpkin puree
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
2 pinches ground cinnamon
1 pinch nutmeg
Pepper
7 leaves fresh sage, thinly sliced
Grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese, to pass around the table.
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  October 2, 2007

    This looks like an expensive recipe and mighty tasteful! I’m up for your cooking-anytime. You know that! I will chip in though, as this looks costly, and I would feel guilty if you bought everything and cooked. I’m so glad I have a friend that loves to cook and spoil me! Your awesome. I heart you. ms.

    Reply
  2. Princess Taj

     /  October 3, 2007

    Ugh – if I could teleport myself from Boston to there, I so would come over and play! That looks SOOOOOOOOOOOO good!!!

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  October 3, 2007

    when do you want me there? ms.
    Next week?

    Reply
  4. beingmccrary

     /  October 3, 2007

    MS: you are cracking me up! I heart you too. I already have everything for the recipe except the pumpkin, the pasta and the sage so it’s all good. But def bring some wine! 🙂

    Yes, let’s plan a date for sure!

    PT: how fun would that be? FUN!

    Reply
  5. janet

     /  October 3, 2007

    so I really do want to make all kinds of pumpkin foods, but…oddly…not pasta. Is something wrong with me? Are you sure they go together?

    Reply
  6. beingmccrary

     /  October 3, 2007

    Janet: I will let you know how it comes out. I once ordered Butternut Squash Ravioli at a restaurant and it was so yummy that I’m hoping it’s that good. Otherwise, I’m making a trip back across state to get some more of that BSR because I’ve been dreaming about it ever since!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

