I Smell Cookies Baking

My husband is applying for a new job at the Univer!sity of Michigan.  If you have been reading my blog for awhile you know that my husband is often out of town for work and Ann Arbor is his usual place.  The fact that he was told about this job from the employer before it’s been posted makes it feel like it’s more likely to happen-you know, that he will get it.

Initially when he brought this home to me, I felt….okay about it.  I guess I thought maybe he was crazy?  I don’t know.  But then he went on and on and he was so excited that I realized this was something he really wanted.  And for good reason.  His boss sends him to AA to work with this company because he’s the best in his field.  This company in AA knows that, it makes sense.  It’s more money, it’s waaaaaaaaaaaaay better benefits, we’d be stupid to turn it down.

One of the requirements of this job is living within an hour of the University. 

We will have to move.  Sell the house that I bought all by myself and that I have worked so hard on to get the way I want.  I will have to leave my family. 

Leaving my parents will be hard, but leaving my brother will be the hardest.  Leaving my friends will be heartbreaking. 

When I was young my family lived far away from the rest of our family.  I just never wanted that for me, but I love my husband and I support him in this quest.  He’s like burning tires to leave his family.  He’s already driving the moving van and I’m running along side it trying to jump in.

I went to the mall with my brother last Saturday and I told him about this opportunity for Rob.  He didn’t even blink an eye, “yes, you would be stupid to pass it up.” 

“Won’t you miss me?”

In my family, and that means my brother and my dad, a better a job and more money equals a better life.  I disagree with that.  I don’t care if I have to live in my house forever and never make more money than I do right now, I just want to be happy and have fun with the people that I love so much.  My relationships with my friends and family is what makes my life better.  All that other stuff is just crumbs in the bottom of the jar.

But if Rob gets this job, we will not pass it up.  And that’s scary. 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Good luck to your husband…I know you would have to leave your family and friends, but it might be a great opportunity for you both in the long run. I just hope everything that you want to happen, does. Keep us posted! 🙂

    Reply
  2. It sounds like a wonderful opportunity. For perspective, U of M versus where I think you are in MI right now…Not very far. My parents are 13 hours away. While I obviously chose where I am now, and have been in that situation for a very long time…You would be close enough that you could visit every weekend if you chose to. Being in a new town isn’t that bad. I haven’t done it in years, but I used to enjoy it.

    If you do it, join some groups: A church (if you’re religious), the Jaycees (if you’re younger than 40), a cooking class…It will be fine. 🙂

    Good luck to your husband!

    Reply
  3. Oh, good luck with whatever happens! I’m sure either way it’ll all work out.

    Reply
  4. !!!!! You’ll be so close!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

