Letter Number Ten: About Your Daddy

Dear Son,

There have been so many moments throughout this pregnancy with you that I have fallen in love with your Father again and again.  I didn’t think it was possible to love him any more then I did the day we were married, but it happened.  I just want you know how lucky you are to be born to a person like him. 

I’m so excited to see him hold you.  I know that he can’t wait and I know this because he tells you everyday to get “out of there now already, I can’t take it anymore!”  He’s super patient, my son. 

Some might say I’m doing the hard part by carrying you all this time, dealing with the heartburn, the nauseousness and aches but I know it’s been just as hard on your daddy.  He does everything he can to make it easier on me but when someone just doesn’t feel good, it’s hard to make them happy.  He painted your room (making sure every little line was perfect), put together your crib (twice, who needs directions the first time?) and he has been involved in every doctors appointment even if we had to sit there an hour past the original time it was supposed to start (there’s the patience again).  I know it was hard for him when I felt you move so early and he had to wait.  I know it’s hard for him right now while I’m feeling early contractions and there is nothing he can do.  I know he’s scared that he might not be the father that is right for you.

I have a lot of faith in him that he will be a wonderful father.  In fact, sometimes I get scared he will be better than me.  Maybe that’s a normal fear in all soon to be parents but I’m very certain he will be fine.  I know for sure that since I have met him I have laughed everyday.  I have no doubt it will be the same for you as he always has the funniest thing to say at least once every day, if not more.  I can’t wait for the first time he makes you smile and I hear you laugh.  I can’t wait to see him working with you on your hockey skates and pushing you around on the ice.  He’s already pricing golf clubs for a 3 year old and thinking about coaching t-ball.  He already tells me to sign up for Thursday night ceramics and Monday night kickboxing so he’ll have his own time with you and you are not even here yet! 

I know he will teach you all the amazing things he’s so good at, which I could list a several, but what impresses me the most is his ability to learn so quickly.  Never built a deck before?  Well, I’ll just teach myself.  Never took out a toilet and installed a new one?  No problem, it might take me a whole 24 hours but I can do it.  And he does.  And once he starts, he doesn’t stop.  He is one of the hardest working people I have ever met.  This is also how I know he will always be a good provider for you and teach you how to be one as well through his actions. 

He loves you like he loves me.  And because I know I couldn’t imagine him loving me anymore than he already does, I know you are in wonderful hands when he’s holding you.   

We are pretty lucky to have him.  😉

 

Love,

Mommy

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. He sounds all kinds of handy and generally really good to have around.

    I love that he’s already telling you to make ongoing plans on specific nights so that he has the kid to himself. It’d be really cool if all parents did that.

    Reply
  2. Awwwwww. Sniffles.

    Reply
  3. Oh my gosh, I’m in love with your husband. lol He reminds me so much of my dad and of K. It’s crazy!

    You two really are going to be the best parents ever. I can’t wait to read about all of it!

    Reply
  4. Jesus you got me tearing up over here!!!

    Reply
  5. MS

     /  July 28, 2008

    I know, I’m tearing up too. You will both be great parents and I can’t wait to witness this.

    Reply
  6. MS

     /  July 28, 2008

    I hope you let R read this. It would make his day. That’s very sweet what you wrote.

    Reply
  7. That is a really sweet letter. You guys are going to be such fun parents.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

