It’s called NORMAL

We all have bad days and yesterday was about as bad as I had felt in a long time.  I actually pat myself on the back for that because I take a lot on and that was the worst day I’ve had since returning to work and returning to work is a huge challenge after having a baby.  With the way my hours have been lately I’ve been working until 6 everyday and that means I see my baby for an hour or two before he goes to bed.  In that time I also make dinner or work out, for my own sanity, and so top that with all the other things I have to do at night, and it can be a lot.  I also have to get my rest because any mom knows that even if your child has slept through the night everyday that week, you can’t necessarily rely on that to happen 100% of the time.  I like to be proactive and get my ass to bed so that if Luke wakes up, I’m not making a bottle with 3 scoops of coffee instead of 3 scoops of formula.  And yes, that did almost happen once.  Take away another award for having the formula next the coffee in the cupboard, hello, we know what is in important in our house! 

Yesterday morning was already a rough one.  Maybe I’m crazy (no, I am) for getting frustrated that the car was pulled up too far, but it was and it means I can’t get Luke’s car seat in.  It means that my baby is getting cold while I have to pull the car back a little when I’ve asked my husband several times to not pull it up that far.  It was also within the same 5 minutes that I’m looking for my gloves.  Minutes that are making me late.  I also made the mistake of not wearing boots and while I’m walking up and down the driveway looking for my glove, as I was convinced it fell off my lap when I got out the car the night before, my feet were getting wet.  And cold.  I should have just worn my boots but I didn’t anticipate the laps around the driveway looking for my glove.  My precious, precious glove.  Moment of silence.

After dropping Luke off, I received the phone call reporting the missing formula.  What I should have done then is just said,  “I’ll be right back with formula.”  If I would have done that it would have saved me a guilt free day.  I can honestly say that I don’t think my step-dad or sister thought twice about me forgetting it.  But I thought twice about it, I actually thought eleventy million times about it because I don’ t like to inconvenience people who are helping me and being so giving.  What killed me too is I specifically check his bag and replenish it every night and then leave it on the table for departure the next morning.  I specifically remember checking the formula can and putting it back in the bag.  So as my sister is telling me how my child is STARVING, not quite but it could have been ugly, he is his fathers son, I’m thinking…no it’s in there.  But I don’t say that.  Later, when I talked to Rob he said he found the can of formula on the floor in the office.  It fell out of the bag.  It fell out!  I didn’t forget it!  Give me back my Mom of the Year Award, stat.

Oh wait, there’s still that whole I dropped Luke when he was 2 weeks old thing. 

Betcha you didn’t see that coming did you?  But that’s a story for another day.

And to this commenter who is so ballsy as to remain anonymous (classy!), I say to you in your elementary type fashion:

No, YOU get over yourself.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. You must have forgotten that you are supposed to be perfect all the time, and if you’re not, then you are not allowed to write about it or feel guilty.

    Just kidding! I feel guilty about 10 times a day. Being a mom is rough.

    I’m glad you are feeling better today!

    Reply
  2. I’ve never understood anonymous commenters that offer such wonderful, witty comments. WHY BOTHER?

    Anyhoo, I’m sorry you had a rough day yesterday. I had a monrning similar to that (minus the responsibility of a BABY) today and I wanted to cry because it was only 9am and I had the whole day to go.

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  December 12, 2008

    What???????????? Oh no you didn’t say get over yourself to my BFF.
    I leave anonymous comments because I don’t know any other way…I’m internet/blog challenged. hee hee -jc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

