Happy Birthday to Self…

I’m 32 today.

Do you want a piece of cake?  Yeah, me too.

tn5903_birthday-cake

32 Reasons I’m happy to be in my 30’s.  OR otherwise called, why 30’s are better than 20’s to make me feel better.  OR just 32 random things. Go with it.

1.  I’m finally there.  Husband, mortage (x2) and baby.  I’m really happy to be in this place and I didn’t settle.

2.  No more dating.  I couldn’t date now because pagers (or as my good friend Michelle calls them, beepers.  Giggle.) and cell phones are hard enough, I couldn’t deal with the texting.

3.  There is such a thing as getting older makes you wiser.

4.  When I was younger and my mom would bump into an old friend, I would always want to know how she knew them and it seemed her answer always was, “Oh, I used to work with them years ago.”  I always wondered what that meant.  I totally get it now as I’ve actually said that a few times recently.

5.  I’ve had my close friends a really really long time so they love me for who I really am and I can totally trust them.

6.  I feel content with the fact that I had a great time in my 20’s.  Some also really embarrassing times I’d soon rather forget, but it was fun either way.

7.  I meet my friends for coffee instead of drinks.  We still meet for drinks sometimes but also coffee and when I was younger my mom always drank coffee with her friends when she chatted with them and I always thought that’s what old people do.  I even drink coffee with my parents.  There is no hangovers is what I’m getting at.

8.  I drive a lot slower.

9.  I get to keep dying my hair to cover up the GREY.

10.  I have a better sense of who I am.  And I like me more than I did back then.

11.  I care less what people think.  I still care, but not as much.

12.  I think now before I speak.  I consider other people’s feelings first.

13.  When I do say something dumb and I realize it then, I apologize for it right then.

14.  I still love the number 14.

15.  Even though I’m 32, I would still just really like a homemade chocolate layered cake with vanilla icing and candles.  Nothing from the store.

16.  I love that I know my brother will call me this morning, even though he knows my cell phone is off at work.

17.  I don’t want any presents.

18.  I did  sort of get a present already and I’m really excited about it.  I can now sleep peacefully.

19.  Cheaper car insurance.  I think this is a lie because it doesn’t seem much cheaper.

20.  Crap, I wish I was only 20, this is harder than I thought.

21.  I’m better at buying clothes that flatter me and make me feel good then buying something and wearing it once.

22.  I’m better with my money.

23.  I pick my battles.

24.  I’m more outgoing and not as scared.

25.  I still get scared though.

26.  Life means more to me now.

27.  I like DVR’s better then VCR’s.  Giggle.

28.  28 was my favorite year.

29.  I’m a much better cook.

30.  I have Lukey.

31.  I’m better at making choices even it’s just making coffee at home and not going to Starbucks.

32. This year is the year of less stress.  I’m really gonna try.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Happy birthday! I do like your list, especially number 24. I am turning 30 this year – maybe I’ll try this.

    Reply
  2. Happy birthday! Hubby’s birthday is the 16th – He will also be 32!

    Reply
  3. Wishing you the happiest of birthdays. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Your list is fabulous — and I have to agree with most. 30 is creeping up on me this year.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Reply
  5. PugMama

     /  January 14, 2009

    Happy Birthday! I hope you have a great day! I totally think the 30’s are wonderful. Although the 20’s were good times that I will never forget. 🙂 I love you! jc (i almost put jg!)

    Reply
  6. PugMama

     /  January 14, 2009

    And…Abby and Max say Happy Birthday too. They both tried out for American idol last night but they didn’t quite make the cut.

    Reply
  7. Happy Birthday Girl!

    Reply
  8. Judy

     /  January 14, 2009

    Happy Happy Birthday! Feliz Cumpleanos!

    Reply
  9. Sass

     /  January 14, 2009

    Happy Birthday! I loved your list =)

    Reply
  10. floridagal

     /  January 14, 2009

    Happy Birthday. nice list :). 28 was also my fav. year.
    I am also going to make a list like this in July.

    Reply
  11. Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  12. Hope it was fantastic!

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History