Where I’m at

I finally had my meeting with my case manager yesterday for this.  I have put so much work into the research of programs and two years of schooling that would allow me to move on to get my bachelors and it’s all coming up crap.  Gloria, my case manager tells me that they are not focusing on me getting a bachelors, they are focusing on me getting a job.  The whole theory is that you have to go to school for something that is in a 10% growth rate.  That’s wonderful, but most of those programs are medical and on a 2-3 year waiting list.  OR it’s some kind of certificate/vocational training that while yes, will land me a job, it’s not a job I want or it’s a job at 10 dollars an hour.  OR it’s a job you need a bachelors for, but um…they are not FOCUSING on that.  I think that’s wrong.  I really do.  I was thinking if I finished up my two years, which would actually be less than 2 years because I already have some college (but it would depend on what I chose and what my credits would count towards) then I could get a job and hopefully the employer would pay for me to finish by bachelors as most employer’s will with tuition reimbursment.  This is not how the program works though.  I talked to Rob about it last night thoroughly.  I feel that it may be smarter for us to just invest in a bachelors to secure out future, rather than earn a certificate that keeps me stagnant in a job and stuck at a wage and in a career that I’m still going to want to further my eduction for and the time spent on a certificate is a waste.  He pretty much agreed.  He tells me to decide.  He feels I always make good choices and that he will support me 100% no matter what I decide.  So finally I decided and told him that I want to stay home and go to school fulltime for the next 2.5 years to get my bachelors while he supports our family which will require student loans.  He actually said okay.  OKAY.  I did not think he would be okay with that for some reason.  Taking out loans scares me, but I have found a way to make it really cheap with taking almost all but 30-40 credits (depending on the degree I choose, I have two in mind) at the Community College and the rest at the university which is all set out through the program.  It will still be cheaper though.  I still really feel that this is something that needs to be done for our future.  This may mean I don’t have another baby until Luke is like 5 but I’m really thinking WHO CARES?  Why do I care so much about time lines and all that crap?  I see other people do it who are older than me.  We have been more than okay with me on unemployment and although things will be tighter when that runs out, we will still be okay and able to pay all of our bills and eat.  It might be tighter but I’d rather have it tight now while Luke is very young and not involved in much and it’s only 3 years.  And if I have to take a part time job the last year, I will.  I will!  Here we go.  I’m already signed up for classes!  Now I need to tell Gloria I won’t be needing their assistance.  I hope I’m doing the right thing.  I think it is the right thing.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. A

     /  May 5, 2009

    Oh, hurrah! I think this will be great for you and great for your family. Luke will be so proud of his momma when he realizes how hard you worked to take care of him while going to school.

    What classes are you registered for? I will help with research!

    Reply
  2. Good luck! What an exciting choice. I’m glad your husband is being so supportive!

    Reply
  3. It sounds like you have really considered all the possibilities, and I think you are making the right choice for you! I am glad Rob is supporting and encouraging your decision!

    Reply
  4. JC

     /  May 5, 2009

    Good for you. I think you are making the right choice because this is really important to you. I don’t think you will be disappointed. Just remember that the majority of people who have their degree have their student loans to go along with it! Thank goodness the government has good interest rates! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Good luck! Feeling confident that you’re doing the right thing is the most important (and the hardest) part, I think. You’ve already got that part covered!

    Reply
  6. EM

     /  May 5, 2009

    That’s fantastic! Good luck – you have a goal and you’re going for it. Kudos to you.

    Reply
  7. Sass

     /  May 5, 2009

    It’s the right decision if you think it’s the right decision and don’t ever forget that.

    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

