Wishing upon a Star

No Star yet.  Flyer’s have been posted.  Shelters have been visited.  Ads have been posted in the newspaper and craigslist.  When I checked craigslist…there it was….

FEMALE BLACK LAB FOUND, VERY friendly (my heart leaped!), blue collar (my heart dropped).

When I was at the shelter today I see a black snout a few kennels down, I see it’s definitely a Lab….then I see a large hanging thing that Star definitely does not have.  My heart dropped (and I sort of giggled).

My heart is broken.  I miss her more than I thought I would…when say…I’m sweeping up her giant hairballs or she was tap dancing through my uncomfortable pregnant sleepless nights.  Even all of that, as annoying as it could be at times, I missed when she wasn’t here to go to bed with me Wednesday night when Rob was out of town.  I miss finding her next to Luke’s crib in the morning.

I miss how she was awesome in every way imaginable for Luke.  I was just recently loving their interaction as he had just started learning how to torture her, but she didn’t care.  She just gave him a bath with her tongue.

I had to walk through and look at a lot of dogs today.

Someday.

Not today though.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Jessica

     /  May 21, 2009

    Thinking good thoughts for you, and that someone will be kind and get her back where she belongs. I know how much I love mine, and how tough it would be…

    Reply
  2. I’m so sorry you’re going through this. I lost a dog once too, because someone left the garage door opened and he was left out. I was heart broken, looked for him everywhere and didn’t find him. I thought he would come back on his own one day, but that never happen. I hope Star shows up, she’s such a beautiful dog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

