Together They Come

Having a baby and getting a baby are two very different things.  It seemed like after Luke was born, I would get many comments from people that they were so happy for me, “after every thing you’ve been through, you deserve it so much.”

In my mind, though, I believe that whether or not you’ve had issues as I’ve had, you still deserve it.  It doesn’t make Luke any more special then babies conceived on the very first try.  What it did do for me was make me appreciate Luke in a way that I’m not sure I would have if I hadn’t gone through all that stuff.  I believe that everything happens for a reason, and sometimes you may never get to know what that reason is.  Just because I had issues in this specific area doesn’t mean that other people’s issues in a different area are any less significant and all hard times in our lives are meant to teach us something.  Let yourself learn that lesson and another part of your soul will start to shine.

One of the most shameful feelings I’ve ever felt is feeling disappointed for myself every time I would hear of another person that was pregnant.  HOW UNFAIR!  Genuinely I was happy for that person, but deep inside my heart would break for myself.  I think that’s completely normal.  When you are unsure of what the future holds and have no way of knowing, sometimes you internally start to greive for something that you think you may never have.  But we just have to remember that what’s meant to be, will be.  And getting through the sorrow will get you the joy.

“When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight. Some of you say, ‘Joy is greater than sorrow,’ and others say, ‘Nay, sorrow is the greater.’ But I say unto you, they are inseparable. Together they come, and when one sits alone with you at your board, remember that the other is asleep upon your bed.” -Kahlil Gibran

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Amie

     /  July 22, 2009

    Thank you! I love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

