A Gray Story: Part Two

A lot has been happening but I’m not quite ready to write about it yet.  I will soon though.

What I want to write about today is how awesome people are.

It’s no secret that I have an overabundance of gray hair.  I go and get my hair cut and colored/highlighted every 8 weeks or so.  I really wouldn’t need to go that often except the gray is right at my part and it’s noticeable when it starts to grow in.  In 2007 my hair stylist told me instead of doing a full color she could just do a root touch up every other time.  This helped with cost.

Recently, after losing my job, I was looking for even more ways to cuts some costs, but I’m sorry I cannot live with gray hair, I’ll live without other things first.

One time when I was visiting my stylist for my normal upkeep I talked to her about waxing.  She told me that I can get the exact waxing kit she uses at a nearby salon type store and that it’s so easy and convenient and so much cheaper.

I’ve been doing that since, and how nice of her to tell me about it?  Nice.

I visited that same store a few weeks ago, I figured there has to be some way to do my own root touchups because it’s only in one area.  I was scared because I had not talked to K about it (K is my stylist) and I wanted her input but I just decided to get something that wasn’t permanent so she wouldn’t yell at me too bad when I screwed it up.  See, usually I get color and highlights but she stopped doing the highlights due to the fact that I lost so much hair  after having Luke.  She felt it was just better to do the color and not damage the  new hair with highlights.  So all I’m looking for is color.

I didn’t screw it up but it didn’t work all that well, it worked some though and it was super cheap.

On Tuesday I told Rob that I needed a haircut and that when I went I was going to ask K if she recommend something I could do on my own.

“She’s not going to tell you that, that’s gonna hurt her.”

I knew she would though.  I’ve been seeing her for 10 years, I’ve given her 4 referrals and I tip her well.  I think she does a really good job. And after explaining I knew she would understand.

And she did.  She wrote down the exact formula for me, the brand she wanted me to use and even gave me instructions on how to be sure I got my problem area covered well.

Last night I went and bought the stuff, it was 7.00, it usually costs me 60+.  I did it and it worked wonderfully and I’m so happy with it.

Thank you K a million times over.  Thank you!  Thank you!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Sassafras

     /  July 30, 2009

    Wow. That is a fantastic stylist right there! Good for you!

    Reply
  2. After my mom got divorced she couldn’t afford to get her hair colored very often, and her stylist was similarly helpful, telling her exactly what to buy and even showing her how to do it. I love stories of people being sympathetic and helpful instead of greedy bastards.

    Sorry you are going through rough times right now. At least you have cute hair!

    Reply
  3. How frickin’ decent of her. That makes me love people. XO

    Reply
  4. JC

     /  July 30, 2009

    Do you mind if I ask what kind of wax it is…the stuff I’ve been using at home doesn’t seem to last as long as when I get a wax at the salon.
    And…I’d love to know about the hair color too. I would like to color mine! If you need help let me know. Not that I know anything about it but you know it would be like high scho0l/early 20’s again! 🙂

    Reply
  5. K sounds like a fabulous stylist!!!

    Reply
  6. She sounds like a great lady. Glad you found something that works.

    Your own waxing? I’m intrigued…Though I’d probably end up either chickening out, or with no eyebrows at all by the end.

    Keeping you & your family in my thoughts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

