No Jack, Just Jill

I can’t lie.  Even though I’m excited for the this “new season” in  my life to begin.  I’m also scared.  On Tuesday and Thursday I have to be at school by 7:30.  I have no problem getting up early, it’s getting Luke ready and prepared and fed and dressed and when it’s winter, dressed warm.  Do I feed him before he gets to grandma’s?  Or do I feed him at home?  Do I pack a lunch or expect that grandma will have stuff for him?  Last year was simple because I changed him, gave him a bottle, and then bundled him up in a zip up type  fleece and we were off.  This year he’s walking, he needs a coat, and socks and shoes.  He eats a substantial breakfast.  Milk doesn’t fill him up anymore.  As I type this, I realize that Luke is used to getting up around 7:30.  Since I’ll be waking him at 6:30, he’ll probably be a little groggy and still kind of out of it.  I think I’ll change him, put a sweatshirt on him with his pj’s and socks and pack his breakfast AND lunch.  We’ll be out the door by 6:45 to head to grandma’s.  In the real winter months I think I’ll start the car before I go get him, that way it will be preheated for his arrival.

I truly cannot express how excited I am for the months ahead.  But again, stomach is kind of flip floppy.  I’m sure I’ll be expected to find a lab partner.  I do not enjoy being in a setting where I don’t know a soul and then I’m told to pick a partner.  But I can do it.  This semester is sort of the IT semester.  I have taken classes over the years but I have avoided two of the classes that are absolutely necessary out of fear.  Science with a lab is one of them.  After this semester, it’s up and onward towards getting into the good stuff.  Getting over this hump is a huge milestone for me.   It’s like I’ve always been going up the hill and after this semester, you can call me Jill because I’ll be tumbling down!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. good luck!

    we start back on our “regular” schedule on Monday. I usually pack my daughter’s breakfast, lunch and snacks the day before — I never assume that her grandma will have the stuff she should eat (even if she does) and when she goes to daycare, she’s all set. It makes the mornings much easier.

    Reply
  2. You can do this.

    Even the lab partner part. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Sassafras

     /  August 27, 2009

    Once you get into the swing of things you’ll be fine and the right routine will fall into place. So exciting!

    Reply
  4. It’s an exciting new chapter – You’ll do great.

    Reply
  5. Amie

     /  August 28, 2009

    You will do great! I’m so excited for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

