First day of school as a 32 year old

Yep.  Oldest person in biology.  I’m okay with it though.  I actually like it that way.  I’ve had two classes so far today and it’s going well.  The only overwhelming part is that in between classes I want to work on stuff and today that didn’t happen.  I had to go and get that one book at the book store and the line was a NIGHTMARE.  So that leaves me here with 22 minutes until my lab and I wanted to blog.

I’m also starving, just for the record.  Food line was long too.  I hope the microscopic bag of combos I got out of the vending machine will keep me alive until 4:30…well, 5:00 if you count by the time I’m even remotely close to fixing dinner.

ANYWAY.  Best part of today?  Biology.  By far.  The prof was giving us definitions of some biological type words and one of them was hypothesis.  I think her exact words (I don’t have the notes in front of me) were something like, “A scientific problem that’s tested to see if it can hold any water.”

What she should have said?  “…tested to see if holds any truth.”  Or something along that line because immediately after she said “holds any water”, a hand shoots up, “What do you mean holds water?”

Prof says, “It’s an expression.”

Apparently an expression from the olden days.  I understood what she meant.  I don’t think my 19 year old self would have though.  I could see me totally interpreting that wrong.

My point here is that maybe I lied, I’m not THE oldest in the class.  But I am the SECOND oldest.

I’m not the oldest in accounting though and I’m pretty sure this will be my favorite class.  It was today, at least.  I’ll let you know next week if I still feel the same…and the week after that, I’m sure.

Lab is 13 minutes.  See that the person to your right?  Get to know them really well, they will be your partner for the next 13 weeks.  YEEHAW!

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Sounds like a good first day. Congrats!

    Reply
  2. michelle

     /  September 1, 2009

    that sounds like good news. I’m glad your first day went well.

    Reply
  3. Amie

     /  September 2, 2009

    I’m so proud of you! Wish I could be your lab partner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

