What I worry about…

There is something I’ve been worried about.  I don’t really know who to ask this question to, but I’m just gonna try and see what people think.

I’ve worked in a management position since I was 22.  I have a lot of experience with leading meetings, reporting crap, being a boss, continuous improvement, cost savings, human resource crap, graphing, comparing, evaluating, building customer relationships…..I could go on and on.  Since I was laid off last January and decided to finish my degree, it will often cross my mind that….is it going to be odd that I finish my degree so late in life, and having probably taking 2 years out of the work force, will that turn employer’s off?

I’d like to think that all that experience married with my degree when I finish will be like a gold star, but I’m scared that they will think the experience doesn’t count anymore or something. I don’t want them to think I was being lazy.  More like I was a new mom who took the opportunity to be a stay at home mom while finishing my degree.

Or maybe I”m losing my confidence because I’m not “out there”.  Because when I’m in the situation I’m confident about it.

This doesn’t change my plan. I’m still sticking to it but it bothers me sometimes.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I don’t think it will count against you. Two years is not that long in the grand scheme of things.

    Reply
  2. I think the experience will still count. I agree with you that the experience plus the degree will be a gold star.

    Reply
  3. I don’t think it will work against you at all. When you interview, just make sure you turn it into a positive:

    “I had massive management experience, but wanted to couple it with a degree so that I was increasingly marketable to potential employers.”

    Or something along those lines – And besides, you’re awesome, how could they NOT hire you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

