the one with the dentist: part two

I went to the dentist last Thursday.  I’m not a fan of the dentist and once again I will ask nicely for no judgment.  In my defense though, I have become a lot more mature and less whiny about it.  One of those reasons is that if I’m going to expect my son to go to the dentist and not hate it, I’ve got to step it up.  It’s not going to help if when we are both headed to our appointments and I’m (THE MOM)  in tears.  That’s not gonna work when I’m all like, it’s okay Luke, it won’t hurt!

Anyway, at the end of July I went for a cleaning.  I was told I had a few cavities that needed filling and so I made the appointment.  Then Rob lost his job.  So I canceled it because we had no insurance.  Then Rob got his job back, with the insurance so I knew I still had to do this.  Well….to make a long story longer….no, really, I’ll try to shorten it up….the dentist I went to for the last filling that I linked to up above was an awesome dentist.  Completely understanding to my fear and was all about making me comfortable.  I had a great experience.  So for some odd reason when I decided to go for a cleaning in July I had some STUPID idea to go to a dentist closer to my home.  The above dentist is twenty miles away.  I wasn’t a total idiot, I did ask a friend who she went to and she said this dentist closer to my home was a good one.  And he wasn’t bad, he just wasn’t…..what’s the word?  Comforting.  I realize I’m 28 and I need to get over it and yeah (okay, I’m 32!  Jeez) I could probably just deal with it but when I think how I had a bad experience with the dentist when I was a child, it’s a goal of mine to make sure Luke does not have that same experience so I decided to go back to the previous dentist.

So on Thursday, I was a little nervous and the hygienist, who I’m pretty sure remembered me or was just smart enough to check my file is all, do you want the gas like last time and I’m all like, hell yeah yes please!  And so she obliges.  And soon after the gas was over my nose.  Dr. W gives me the numbing shots and then they both leave me and tell me they will return when I can’t feel  my lips.  So I’m just relaxing there breathing in the gas.  And then I start giggling.  I start wondering why they just can’t have gas in bars!  Less calories!  No hangover!  I’M DRUNK.  I’m drunk on the gas and  trust me, I’m pretty sure I would have been on the counter dancing if a) there had been music other than Celine Dion coming out those speakers in the ceiling and b) I didn’t have to remove the gas to do so.  I’m positive though that if Lionel Richie had come out of the speakers singing Dancing on the Ceiling, I would have found a way to make it work.  And I REALLY kept wishing my purse wasn’t in the corner and instead on my lap so I could fish out my cell phone and start drunk texting.  I think I even said “bummer” OUT LOUD.  And I may or may  not have told Anita the hygienist just how wonderful it was several times before finally they opened my mouth and got in there probably to SHUT ME UP.

Do you have any idea what this means?

I need to get out more.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I’ve always kind of liked going to the dentist…My son does, too. Hereditary? 🙂

    Reply
  2. Michelle

     /  October 26, 2009

    I’ve never had the gas before, maybe I should try it next time.

    Reply
  3. OMG I laughed soooo hard…:)

    Reply
  4. Dancing on the Ceiling!!! HAHAHAHAHA!

    Reply
  5. jc

     /  October 28, 2009

    My daughter loves going to the dentist. She reminds me when its time to make the appointments. At first when I read you were 28 I thought we went back in time for a minute-I liked it. Then I wondered if I was somehow reading an old post. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

