IOU

I went for a run yesterday.  I haven’t been running in a while, but the urge was there yesterday and the day was so beautiful, I couldn’t turn it down.  I didn’t have any other obligations to fulfill, so I decided to fulfill one to myself.

I may have mentioned before that I pray when I run.  Yesterday was no different and I was thanking Him profusely for everything I have.  Even though I want more.  Yes, I do.  But I need for nothing.  I’m working on that.

When I got home I checked the mail and found a letter from the State of Michigan saying I owe them 1900 dollars in back taxes from 2005.  I wasn’t sure how this could be.  A retired accountant does my taxes every year, but after reviewing the paper work, it seems to be true.  I felt sick.

I feel like financially I have tried to do everything right, but for some reason I keep finding myself needing to shell out more and more money when at the moment, it’s not coming in at top speed.  I feel like I’m trying to do the right thing by increasing my education with my skills in hopes that this is the best thing for our family.   For Luke.  For a possible child that doesn’t exist yet.

This letter defeated me.  Knocked me down a little.  But I’m good at standing back up.  I’m excellent at pushing forward.  I’ve almost perfected it.  The positive out look, the “meant to be” mindset.

Today on my way to school I was listening to my regular morning show that I enjoy.  To make a long story short,  the 27-year-old producer had done a radio show back in college with a friend that the show he’s on now has made fun of.  It was the J and B show and it was humorous when they play snippets from the show and laughed at their inexperience.   Well, J found out this weekend that his friend B, had just died from complications from the H1N1.  He had double pneumonia along with it, but other than that, was a healthy 27-year-old person.

I don’t know this person.  But I think of his mother.  I don’t know this person, but I think still think of it.  I think of it and it reminds me that 1900 dollars is nothing compared to the health of my family.  And I thank Him for that profusely as I climb the hill up to this building I now sit in waiting for class to start.

No amount of money is comparable at all.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Good perspective. I try to remain positive and thankful for the health and happiness of my family, even when I’m hit with another bill that I wish I didn’t have to pay.

    Reply
  2. Michelle

     /  November 10, 2009

    I look up to you for your positivity. Yes, very true, so much to be thankful for. Hugs.

    Reply
  3. Oh, I’m so sorry about your husband’s friend. How awful for his family.

    Yeah, money’s just money. You can always make more. But life…That’s something else entirely.

    Reply
  4. Good perspective. Being grateful is something I need to keep working on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

