Between the Hours of 8 and 10

During the a.m. hours of eight and ten, when I don’t have school, I’m just waking up.  I’m rolling over groaning while wishing I could sleep a little longer.  I take the ten seconds it takes me to walk from my bed to Luke’s crib to convince myself that today I WILL nap when he does.  No laundry, no homework, no computer, no reading….just a long luxurious nap for me.  I have barely one eye open when I round the door of Luke’s room and I hear, “HI!”.  My day starts with a bouncing Luke who is obviously practicing for the Olympics.  It won’t be long and he’ll be doing a Punch Brani straight out of his crib and I’ll be forced to write down numbers to judge him every morning.  Is it 7:00 am?  Then a 3 it is!  Is it 9:00 am?  Then 10!  A 10 he is, baby!!!

By nine a.m. I’ve had some coffee, Luke’s had his blueberry waffle or banana and he has spread every toy he owns around the entire house.  I step on a matchbox car.  Is it nap time yet?  Because THAT hurts.

It’s 9:30, and somewhere in the last 30 minutes I’ve lost all  my sanity and started laundry, or made some phone calls that needed to be made, or started on a cleaning binge and now I’m boiling with adrenaline.  Crap.

At 10, the Luke decides he wants to nap and now Mommy is too wired.  Nap for him, more cleaning for me.

Every time.

By 7:00 p.m. every evening I tell myself I’m going to bed when Luke does.  I’m finishing up the dinner dishes and I can barely keep my eyes open.  I’ve packed all the lunches.  I’ve packed all the bags.  I’ve thrown the laundry down the stairs (HEY, it’s close).  I don’t know how I can stay awake another minute, but I do.  I play on the floor, I tickle the boy, I snuggle with a sleepy Lukey who is DEFINITELY sleepy but not ready to give in.

By 8:00 it’s time for him to go upstairs.   After I lay him down, I come back downstairs to finish up a few things and then that’s it, I’m going to bed!  But I don’t.  I end up awake until 11:00.  Suddenly it feels like I have a million things to do or I’ve finally thought of something to blog about.

And that’s what happens between the hours of 8 and 10.  Every time.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I hear you. I think we get to catch up on sleep when they are teenagers. 😛

    Reply
  2. Jenj

     /  November 12, 2009

    no sleep for the mother of teenagers…too much worry & late night thinking…

    Reply
  3. I ALWAYS do that. I like my little bit of alone time too much too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

