I’ve Changed

I’m having a hard time finding my inner hotness.  That’s probably a bad way to word it but let me try to explain it.  I’ve realized lately that after having Luke, I have become simple to make things easy.  I don’t have time for certain things so I have eliminated them out of my life.  It was even on purpose, I just did it.  It’s not as if one day I woke up and said, “I won’t do that anymore, I don’t have time.”  I just didn’t have the time so I didn’t do it.

For example:

  • I cut my nails short.  Not grossly short, but if I notice them getting long, I cut them immediately and file them quickly.  I don’t have time for long nails or breaking a nail.
  • Curling/straightening my hair.  Mostly I blow dry it and it goes back into a cute bun.  I  mean, yeah the bun is cute and stylish but I look the same all the time.  I feel like I don’t have time to deal with a curling iron and wearing my hair down annoys me, especially this time of year.  How do you deal with static electricity?
  • Getting a haircut.  This isn’t something I really have eliminated but if I’m gonna wear my hair up every day of my life until I die, what is the point of rushing to get a haircut?  Of finding a time slot so someone can be with Luke?  For taking the time when I have a million other things to do?
  • Heels.  Flats.  Anything.  Heels are not appealing to me when I have to carry a child, a backpack, a purse, and a diaper bag out of the house.  This takes me two trips and I’m not a fan of cold feet so I end up always wearing my Ugg lookalikes.  Or my Merrells.  When I was working, I would wear my boots to work and bring my cute flats to work, I never really wore them in the snow!  I want to wear cute flats and I want to match some cute heels with a cute outfit!  But here’s the other thing.  I’m never going anywhere that requires that.  I’m not going to wear heels to school.  I pretty much only go there, the grocery store, the library, Target and that’s about it.
  • I won’t buy anything new for a occassion because I tell myself I don’t have anywhere to wear it to and it will just sit in my closet.  I do have cute shirts and sweaters but everything I own is way big on me.  That’s another issue, I’m the skinniest I’ve ever been since high school and I don’t really even get to enjoy it, it seems.  So my real complaint here is that I want something NEW that’s cute that shows off my new bod.

I fear I’m turning into a frump.  A MOM with frump.  I want to wear something CUTE on Christmas.  I allcapsed CUTE because I want it to be NEW and CUTE and something I feel wonderful in.  You know what I mean, I know you do.  It’s when you buy a new article of clothing you just love and feel so good in.  You know you made a good choice!  I haven’t come across anything like that in a long time.  And the sweater I will probably wear is cute, I just won’t feel like I’m channeling my inner hotness, my inner pretty girl who takes the time to get ready.

But I did curl my hair twice this week, it still went in the bun but it added more body to it and I felt pretty.

And I do know exactly what I’m doing with my hair, I just need to make the appointment.

I promise myself to do that next week.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Lindsey

     /  December 23, 2009

    I just went to Forever 21 to shop for my sister in law who is 10 years younger than me (she is 23), but there was the cutest stuff in there and Cheap! I am due in a few weeks, but when I am done, I am going to go back!

    Reply
    • Stacey

       /  December 23, 2009

      You know what? I sort of forgot about that place and it’s a good place to find something cute for not that expensive. So is Charlotte Russe. Thank you for reminding me, I’m gonna check it out! 😉

      Reply
  2. I know how you’re feeling….I haven’t had time for a hair cut in ages. I have made myself less high maintenance (though I never really was in the first place), but I do make a point of trying every few days and it makes a difference in how I feel.

    And I wear my hair up/back every day. I don’t know how people wear it down in the winter (or the summer — the humidity!!)

    Happy Holidays!

    Reply
  3. itsybitsymama

     /  December 23, 2009

    I hear you on all of this–and I have no clue what to wear on Christmas. I just know my kid will look CUTE for the both of us! 🙂

    Reply
    • Stacey

       /  December 23, 2009

      I hear you! I can’t wait for Luke to sport his cute little shirt and vest!

      Reply
  4. I’m so a frump it isn’t even funny sometimes.
    I hear you loud and clear.
    When I do get myself dressed and ready, I feel so much better about myself.
    It was weird though, it just happened after Maggie, no conscience decision at all…

    My friend once told me to do EVERYTHING that makes you feel good about yourself, even if it takes time. Do your nails, get your hair done, buy a new shirt every once in a while and always wear cute underwear…I think there is something to this!
    Maybe it’s like FrumpyProofing Mommy!

    Reply
  5. Jenj

     /  December 28, 2009

    WELL…I THINK we Mommies don’t have cute, new clothes b/c we are never ALONE to go shopping and if by some great miracle we are, then we are rushed for time to get back to the kid so…….we, again, DON”T HAVE TIME to look cute and new and polished and put together. And screw u and your skinniest since highschool 🙂 I am the BIGGEST since highschool—same size I was when I was 9 MONTHS PREGNANT—it’s just sick…and the hair thing STACEY I HAVE TO ADMIT: why i didn’t listen to you when i asked about cutting my hair, I’ll never know!! I regret it! And my new year’s resolution is and I quote “not to cut my hair and be HEALTHY” (which will melt the pounds off but that’s the added bonus…already bought salmon and lettuce and everything this week at the store…) wow I just realized this comment was like an EMAIL to you so I’ll stop now…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

