Labels

When I was young my brother used to get annoyed with me because it took me forever to do anything.  Now, I’m not   talking about being lackadaisical, like taking forever to get ready for school or brush my teeth or even eat dinner.  I’m referring to how it took me forever to decide if I was ready to do something like say….ride a roller coaster, or jump from a rope swing, or actually go out into the roller skating rink and skate and not just sit on the bench the entire time with my skates on.  Yeah, that was me.  And the more you pushed me or tried to convince me, rather, the longer it would take me.  I had to do it on my own.  I needed to time to warm up to things.  Basically I was preheating myself like an oven.  And now I love to cook so maybe that’s something.

Anyway, I see it in Luke.  Every time I take him somewhere and it’s new to him, he takes his own time to preheat his oven, you might say.

I try hard to not to label him, like, “Oh, he’s just like Rob, he loves hockey!”, or, “Oh, he’s just like me, he needs to preheat before he does anything!”, because he is Luke.  A new person with a whole new personality and characteristics and if it goes how I want it to go he would get the best of me and Rob and be perfect, but that’s not so.

What I like about noticing these characteristics is that when I do notice something that might be like me, I feel like I know how to deal with it.  I know not to push him.  I just let him know what’s there and let him do it when he’s ready.  When he’s old enough to understand things better I will probably say to him what someone once said to me, “If you are going to leave here and regret not doing it, then you should do it, but if you will leave here satisfied with your decision then by all means, don’t do it.”

This is also something that in some ways, I find it to be a positive thing.  Having a cautious child isn’t a bad thing, right?  But wait until he and I have our first real argument and THEN he’s just like me?  Well, you’ll read that lovely blog post when it happens.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. caution is good ( i think anyway).

    and I love the:
    “If you are going to leave here and regret not doing it, then you should do it, but if you will leave here satisfied with your decision then by all means, don’t do it.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

