Assignment

For my second to last speech in my Saturday class, which means this Saturday I have to give one of three types of speeches.

  1. An acceptance speech.
  2. A presentation speech.
  3. A farewell speech.

I’m lost.

How do I write an acceptance speech about myself without sounding like an a-hole?  And what time of an award would I reward myself with?  Going the longest without showering?  Wearing my hair back with a headband for the most days in a row?  Being super duper Mrs. Responsibility?

Puke.

A farewell speech?  Where the hell am I going?   It was mentioned that we could give a speech based on leaving an employer after working there, but how many people do you know that would write a heartfelt speech about that?

Hmmm.  I guess I could make it humorous and why it sucked to work there.  No, I don’t mean that every time someone might quit their job it’s because the employer sucked royally but come on, who is IN LOVE with their employer that much?  No one.

That leaves the presentation speech.  Presenting someone else with something.  When I started writing this post I had no idea, but now I might have one or two.

I would appreciate any ideas from you (two or three) people.

That would be lovely and make my entire Tuesday!  🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. wow. what a crappy assignment.

    i think i would do a humorous, gee, i won’t miss working here, farewell speech. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Acceptance Speech by Stacia Fierce
    write it from your alter ego as a singer, actress or author?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  3. Hmmmm. Could it be a farewell speech like maybe you’re stepping down from a position at a charity — your term is up, you love it, boohoo, feelings, etc?

    I like the idea of using an alter ego for an acceptance speech!

    Or, staying on the charity bandwagon: maybe you’re accepting an award/donation on behalf of an organization. Thus: less about you, more about whatever charity you’re representing.

    Reply
  4. Sass

     /  April 14, 2010

    Oh god. I hate speeches #1 and #2 I hate acting/role playing. If you’re OK with being someone else that might be good – I like the idea of accepting an award. But you’ve got to go all in.

    Reply
  5. Jenj

     /  April 15, 2010

    Well, let me just tell you Missy…In 4th grade I gave an acceptance speech as Katherine Hepburn accepting her Oscar…I dressed up all 50’s like and covered my Ken doll in aluminum foil and IT WAS FABULOUS! Just a suggestion LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

