Away

Here I am, sitting on the couch of my aunt’s house with my pillow and blanket.  A great book is next to me on the floor waiting for me to pick it up and start up where I left off two days ago.  My dad is in the bedroom watching the Tigers.  My Uncle is doing the same upstairs and my Aunt is asleep.

I’m thankful for the wireless internet.  I’m thankful that I could be  here with my dad and get him here sooner than Saturday afternoon to be with his sisters.

But do you know who isn’t here?  Luke.  As of this moment I may not see him until Monday and I don’t know how I’m going to make it that long.  I am missing him to the max.

Rob and I discussed it and with everything going on and with Luke’s age, we felt it was the better decision that he would just stay home with Rob, and I would represent our family and be there for my dad.  There is a possibility that Rob will bring him Saturday for one of the viewings and I will see him then but that has not been set in stone.

I’ve talked to him twice.  Rob says he keeps going to the staircase and shouting for me from the bottom.  Sometimes when I have a test coming up, Rob will let me sneak upstairs for study time and Luke will yell for me from the bottom, it’s where he thought I was today.

Oh man, I’m totally one of those moms.  I’m already someone who gets homesick easily and I don’t think it would be so bad if I was with Rob, but being away from both of them is tugging on my heart.

The only thing that is remotely keeping me distracted is that I have plenty of time to study for my exam on Tuesday.  I’ll start that tomorrow.  Tonight I’m going to read the new book I started.  But first I’m gonna look at a few pictures of Luke.  I can’t help myself.

Gosh, this is from August 09, look at how chubby those cheeks were!

My goodness, look at that belly!  (April 09)

And finally, look at these CHUBBY thighs!  Nomnomnom!  (Feb 09)

Okay, I’m done now.  Thanks for bearing with me.

And apparently my Aunt couldn’t sleep because now they are watching their DVR’d Young and the Restless which they have watched for as long as my memory allows me to remember.  Too funny.

Good night.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. michelle

     /  April 23, 2010

    Stacey, I’m saddened to hear about your families loss. Sounds like you have some great memories. Hugs and kisses to you and your family.

    Reply
  2. Luke is so cute!

    I don’t think that missing Luke makes you “that mom.” It’s normal to miss him that much, I think.

    Again, sorry for your loss. I hope your family is doing ok.

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  April 25, 2010

    it’s so hard being without the little buggers, I KNOW

    Reply
  4. Sass

     /  April 26, 2010

    I think you’re normal to miss your family so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

