I love algebra

Yesterday I was working on my algebra homework (which I love, hence the title!) and as I’m looking at a problem I’m not understanding right away (but I will understand it later!), my eyes scroll up and I see this passage at the end of the chapter:

Tips For Success:  Affirmations

“Do you ever tell your self and others that you are  not good at math?”

Yes, in fact, I do!

“You can counteract YEARS of negative self-talk by telling yourself with conviction that you are good at math!”

I can?

Here’s what it tells me to do:

1.  Say affirmations that imply that the current event is happening, for example:  “I am good at algebra,” NOT “I will be good at algebra.”

2.  I should say affirmations that make progress towards my desired result, such as, “I am good at algebra and I continue to improve at it.”

3.  I should also say, “I attend each class,” not “I don’t cut classes.”

4.  I should say these with conviction.

So I am.  No, I really am, because I really do want to do this and be good at it because that’s just how I roll.

Whatever works, right?  Even if makes me laugh out loud.  (LOL, right?)

I even wrote myself a little note, in case I forget:

With conviction and everything!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. michelle

     /  May 12, 2010

    I LOVE it! Way to be creative! Cute outfit too!

    You are cute.
    You are good at algrebra.
    You are creative.
    You are my friend.

    Reply
    • Stacey

       /  May 12, 2010

      Michelle, I’m not as creative as you but you inspire me! I love you! You make me laugh!

      Reply
  2. husband

     /  May 12, 2010

    I don’t clean mirrors lol

    Reply
  3. Carol

     /  August 9, 2010

    Algebra is the most interesting and important branch of mathematics. We need algebra in our daily life. So, students need to learn this from the very beginning. But, unfortunately nowadays, children are very likely to avoid algebra. I don’t understand why they do so. Besides parents and school teachers, online tutors are best persons to encourage students to give attention to it. There are several online tutoring services available to help students across grades for a very nominal cost. Some of them specialize in math, especially algebra; for instance, tutorteddy.com. Students with difficulties in math or science can try it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

