Funky Town

Yesterday I had the hiccups and Luke was laughing hysterically at me because he thought I was fake burping.  So he was fake burping back at me and I was all, no Luke, it’s the hiccups.  He just kept right on laughing.

We’ve had an extreme burst of vocabulary and he’s actually talking real sentences and I’m sorry that I sound stupid when I say this but I’m always amazed by it.  Do I think I didn’t give birth to a HUMAN?  Sometimes I wonder….

When Luke was born, I did know that one day he would be a real person.  I did know that.  But in that moment I was living my life in two to three hour increments and all I had to concentrate on was when it was time to empty the giant jugs and his next poo, so I never really thought about it.  I didn’t have TIME FOR THAT.  It’s all about survival at that point, it never occurred to me that  life would ever change.

But it does.  Oh does it ever.  It’s really fun too.  The thing is though, that as one challenge finally exits, another is always there to take it’s place and now it’s a communication breakdown when he can’t find the words he wants to say or when he can’t understand why I’m saying no to something and that leads to a tantrum.

Today he asked me for a boat ride…..um, we don’t own a boat, son.  I was nervous there for a second but he was okay with it.  Whew.  I’m always wondering what’s going to bring on the next tantrum.

Good lordy.

Do you want to know what’s on my mind these days?  Good, I had a feeling you might.

Why is the bistro always messy?  Why is it a dumping ground and why is it plain with white walls?  Why isn’t it cute with a bench and fun storage unit and why, why, why? (Just so you know, the bistro is our mudroom.  It’s finished and connects to our finished loft man cave over our garage and when we moved in Rob mentioned it could be a bar area and it never will be (trust me) but from that moment on we’ve called it THE bistro).

Dog hair is annoying. Dog hair is annoying. Dog hair is annoying.

Luke thinks Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star is about Star.  That’s not really on my mind as much as it is adorable.

Baby Number Two.  I had a dream a few weeks ago that I gave birth to a full term baby boy a month after I found out I was pregnant.  We couldn’t decide on a name so we named him Number Two.  WE NAMED OUR BABY NUMBER TWO.  Like poop, people!  Am I capable of creating another human and taking care of it?  I mean, I didn’t even think my first one was going to talk and now I want to have another one?  Or I don’t want to, it changes daily.  And I don’t know why but I’m really, really, afraid to have a girl.  That’s the not the same as not wanting a girl, I’m just scared of it.  Anyway, if we are blessed with another one, I wanted the kids to be three to four years apart, so here’s to starting to try and lots of sex in our future. (Somewhere in downtown GR my husband  just jumped and kicked his heels together)

Am I always going to be poor?  Not so much poor as not rich.  People say (I don’t know these people personally but they sure are smart) that this is the time to be poor in your life, when you’re young (Ha!) and starting a family.  That does not make me feel any better.   But I am going to school and will eventually work again so more money has got to be in my future somewhere, right?  It’s like a game of hide and seek.

I put my REAL thoughts in italics to help you and me sort through it better.

I am strange.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I had a dream the other day that I was pregnant, but didn’t take a test — I only knew I was because my boobs started leaking again. WTH?

    Reply
  2. michelle

     /  June 2, 2010

    All these women having babies or trying to get pregnant, I feel like I need to. No, I think I’m good.

    Your not alone, I am broke too and just want a family vacation to disney. Is that too much to ask? We never have money for it though. Some day…

    You could start a photography studio in the bistro, natural lighting. CHa-CHing. Or how about finding a flea market deal and painting it for that room. Like a bench with hooks and mirror above, that’d be cute.

    Reply
  3. A

     /  June 3, 2010

    Oh, Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star should be about your Star. Love that. And the fake burps. And the asking for the boat ride. And all of the above! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Jenj

     /  June 4, 2010

    Um… I was the one that said you’re supposed to be poor when you’re young and starting a family and I’m a genius and stand by my outstanding theories, lady!! (at least this is what I tell myself everyweek when I balance the checkbook lol)

    Reply
  5. Jenj

     /  June 4, 2010

    OH, ALMOST FORGOT… YOU HAVE *GOT* TO START READING “A DAY IN THE WIFE” ON BLOGGER… HI. LAR. I. OUS!

    Reply
  6. Kendra

     /  June 6, 2010

    LOL you named your kid Poo.

    Reply
  7. itsybitsymama

     /  June 7, 2010

    Congrats on trying–unless that was part of your dream? And I love that you have a bistro in your house. I want one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

