This Cottage

Where we are vacationing right now is the same place we came back in 2007.  It’s also the place we visited for a weekend when we had only been dating two months.  It feels special to me.  We were here when we were just dating, we were here when we had been married less than a year and now we are here again with Luke.

What I love is the rustic feeling, although it has everything we need.  And though this cottage is old it is still true to its 2010 form with cable and wireless internet.  This cottage has been in a family for years, recently both parent’s that owned this have passed away and left it to their children.  One of their children is Rob’s good friend.

On Monday we moved all the furniture out of the living room so that new carpet could be installed.  There is a bookshelf by the fireplace that we moved the books out of before transporting it to one of the bedrooms.  In there was two guests books.  One was recent but hadn’t been written in since 1996.  The other was quite old and the latest entry was 1988 and it went back as far as 1951.

My heart broke a little.  But in that good way.

I picture hot summer days and hot summer nights mixed with days and nights that are too cold for the months of June, July, and August but we all know Michigan never changes.  How many women  have been in that kitchen cooking the meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner?  How many babes have slept here and how many 9 and 10-year-old children have stayed up way too late by the fire?  How many men have been fishing with there buddies out there and brought home not a single fish?

As time has changed hairstyles and clothing styles…as technology has gotten maybe a little too much out of control…somethings don’t change.  I bet those momma’s didn’t want their babies too close to the water either.  I bet they drank beer after the kids went to bed and stayed up late talking too.  I’m sure they were not so happy as the rain and cold moved in but nodded along as they probably lived in Michigan and understood.  I’m positive the sound of the water hitting the shore was just as relaxing for them as it has been for us.  I bet they made memories here come rain or shine.

Of all things in life, I think it’s comforting knowing that no matter how much time passes, somethings just never change.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. A

     /  June 9, 2010

    I love places like this. And I love this post.

    Reply
  2. I get nostalgic when I think about how things were back in the day, too, especially when I drive around downtown and think it was once beautiful and thriving.

    Have a good vacation.

    Reply
  3. JC

     /  June 10, 2010

    This brought a tear to my eye. Such important words to hear and remember. Life is so good.

    Reply
  4. I absolutely love this post. I have thoughts like this too – whenever I’m somewhere making memories, I think of the families and people that have also made memories in the same exact place, but at a different time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

