Letter Number Seventeen

Dear Luke,

This past month something happened that I’ve been waiting a long time to happen.  We went on a family vacation.  A daddy, mommy, Luke, and Star vacation.  Recently we’ve seemed to have a lot of little getaways and you have had the time of your life, and I’ve had a great time experiencing it with  you.

One of your most favorite things of all has been the boat rides.  You exclaim over and over, “Boat ride, mommy!” And I think the funniest part is when I lay you down for any sort of sleep time you will talk yourself to sleep about boat rides.  One evening we were out-of-town we laid you down in our room we were sleeping in also and when I went in a few hours later to climb in bed, you popped right up out of a sound sleep and said, “BOAT RIDE!”  Oh, the giggles I had to hold back, my son!  I thought I might pee my pajama pants.

On our family vacation, there was no speed boat.  Only the rowing kind.  We were afraid of this.  For some reason it was against our better judgment as parents to put your little toddler self in a row-boat.  Daddy was afraid of it tipping and mommy….well, mommy is always pretty much afraid of you near any water, but I let your Daddy make that decision.  But you begged and begged and even said, please!  On the last day before we were to leave your Daddy came to me and said he would empty out all his pockets and only row you around the dock in the shallow area.  I agreed.  I trust him.  Then he did the daddy thing and sat you down for a talk.  He told you that you must sit really still and stay seated and that he would take you on a boat ride.

And that you did.  And we were so proud of you.  You never moved from that seat and your smile was outrageous.

(Here’s daddy telling you why it’s important to stay seated and that you are big boy!)

When you came in from the boat, your daddy’s exact words were, “I’m very impressed with our son.”  It’s not that you can’t normally follow direction or listen, but you are only 22 months old here and we know it’s sometimes hard for you.

While this past month has been filled of fun trips for us, it’s also been filled with milestones for you.  Your boost in vocabulary is incredible and when you “answer” me during our conversations, my heart smiles.

Your favorite word is still no.  For some odd reason you struggle with yes, and your favorite way to answer is by repeating the last word spoken to you so our conversations go a little like this:

“Luke, do you want this (holding up cereal) or this (holding up waffles)?”

“THIS!”

“Are you having fun?”

“FUN!”

“Do you want some?”

“SOME!”

“Luke, nap in 20 minutes.”

“No.”

“Luke, night time in 15 minutes.”

“No.”

It was also interesting just the other morning when you kept asking me for lunch.  Then I figured out that lunch to you means peanut butter and  jelly.  Lucky for both of us that peanut butter and jelly is also delicious on toast.

In a few days it will be July 1st, and that’s just one month away from your 2nd birthday.  Wow.  I can’t wait.  I just hope you’ll keep snuggling with me, I hope you don’t stop climbing up on my lap and cupping my face in your hands so you can get my attention.  Even though sometimes I’m in the middle of conversation, I secretly love it.

I’m loving watching you grow.  Watching you learn.

Your imagination is developing.

While yes, you are the cutest and steal my heart 99% of the time, you also have your tantrum times.  Whoa Momma!  You sure get mad.  Most of the time you are mad for good reason but just too young to understand why.

Like the other day you kept demanding to watch hockey, but hockey wasn’t on.  You didn’t understand, but I did end up finding  a replay of game four ondemand and then you were in your glory as you watched and imitated the players.

You also don’t understand when it’s time to come in, or why we need to take a break to eat, but this will pass.  It will pass so fast, just like the last 23 months.

So far, this has been a fun summer, and it’s not over yet.  We still have several hot summer days ahead of us, filled with popsicles and splashing feet.

You keep me smiling and I love you.

Love, Mommy

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Sassafras

     /  June 28, 2010

    He is so adorable!

    Reply
  2. Kendra

     /  July 1, 2010

    awww. sweet.

    Reply
  3. I have to admit – I go back and forth when I think about whether or not I want to have children. I’ll be shopping in the grocery store, and witness a child having a COMPLETE meltdown. I think to myself, “there is no way I could deal with that.”

    Then I read a post like this and look at all your wonderful pictures, and think to myself, “how could I live without this?”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

