A confused reflection

Two years ago tomorrow I went to the doctor.  The doctor told me she would think about inducing me on August 20th and I really wanted to bitch slap her.  In a nice way, of course.  I was large, hot and pregnant.  And not hot in a good way, I mean in a sweaty way.

I went into labor that night.

I thought my life changed forever when I got pregnant.  And it did.

But my life really changed forever at 10:11 am on August 1st.

Last week I took Luke to the beach and on our way to this beach we pass by my old job.  The job of my 20’s.  Every time I drive by it’s sort of like passing through a mini time warp.

What a different life I had back then.  Moreover, the place I thought I was going is no where even near where I am now. I never thought in a million years I would be a stay at home mom.  I didn’t think I had it in me.  But here I am and I’m doing it and it’s working.  It’s not going badly.

I can’t believe I’ve been a momma for 2 years now.

Luke has been really clingy lately and he’s changing a lot.  I’m not sure if it’s a two-year old thing or what is happening but he’s more attached to me than ever and he’s becoming more afraid of some things.  He doesn’t seem to want to eat as much and is getting pickier.  The boy who would eat anything demanded waffles for every meal yesterday.  I don’t really care as long as he eats, and he eats them with fresh blueberries so that’s fine with me.

I didn’t think my heart could ever be full of so much love.  It’s such an odd indescribable wonderful feeling.

Today I was up at 6am for school and I dropped off Luke.  After school I went to get him a few presents.  After that I went to the grocery store and got our weekly groceries and in addition the groceries for his family birthday party on Sunday and we also needed dog food and my cart weighed about 700 pounds so then I loaded it all up in the car and came home and unloaded it with several trips and then I put it all away and then I finally went to get him from my MIL’s.

Do you know what?  I really hate grocery shopping.  It’s one of those things that I only do because I love my family and it’s necessary and good for us.  That got me thinking about things that people do, not because they like it but because they love who they do it for.

What do you do, not because you like to do it but because it’s good for someone you love or it makes someone else happy?

This post is a hot mess.  Just answer the question.

And look at these baby blues…..don’t mind the superman ice cream, which also (because I know you are wondering) creates superman poo.  You’re welcome.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Happy almost birthday Luke!

    To answer your question, I do a lot that I don’t want to do, but I do for others like work (to pay our bills), pack lunches EVERY night (so we don’t have to rely on junk or fastfood), make dinner EVERY night (for the same reason)….most of the time I don’t mind, but every so often it gets to me.

    But then it’s important to me, so I plod on until it’s fun again. Or my husband says something like he said the other day, “I noticed you’ve been making a lot of new recipes and they’ve all been really good.” He had me at “I noticed.”

    🙂

    Reply
  2. Cleaning, cooking, and changing diapers. Yuck. I also go to the movies more often than I really want to because H loves going so much.

    Reply
  3. michelle

     /  July 30, 2010

    Putting away laundry, looping the blinds cord, cleaning the bathroom, emptying the coffee filter so it’s ready for C. Letting C and B have the TV for a whole evening to play video games, lately it’s been EVERY night. B completed the game though, so it’s worth it. Oh, and taking care of the dog. Nail trims, doctor visits, meds, poop pick up all because I love my dog. He paws at me, that’s how I know he appreciates me.

    Reply
  4. Ugh – I hate grocery shopping too. I’ve been dragging Brian with me Sunday nights. He waits at the deli counter and I get all the rest of the groceries done. By the time I go through the whole store he is JUST ordering.

    I do laundry and dishes and cooking and bathrooms and litterboxes and puppy baths….all for the ones I love 🙂

    Reply
  5. Sassafras

     /  August 2, 2010

    I don’t mind grocery shopping as long as I have the time to go. I can’t stand not having food in the house and having to wing it. My evenings are the worst. After working all day, picking up a cranky kid and then making dinner, doing the dishes and making lunches I am exhausted. But I do it because if I didn’t? I would hate it a lot more.

    Happy Birthday Luke!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

