Christmas Vacation

I was so excited for this Christmas.  Again, we had to wake up Luke up because we were so excited, but I’m pretty sure it might be the last year that happens.

Rob and I got up early to open our gifts to and from each other and then my dad and brother arrived and we woke up Luke and gave him his gifts.  My brother loved the picture of our child hood street sign.  I could tell it meant something and even more when I said I took it.  Those are my favorite gifts to give.  Also, all the calendars I made of Luke for the grandparent’s were also a huge hit, and again, my cup runneth over.  I think this year was more exciting for me because I had good gifts to give.  Not the most expensive or extravagant, but they seemed to mean something and normally I am not good at that stuff so this year it made me happy that I had gotten lucky with these ideas.

Hockey gloves!  He’s still figuring out how to wear them and hold his stick.

I have to say, I think this gift was the biggest hit of the day.

But then yesterday, it was the race track for his hot wheels so basically it changes at any moment but even after all these gifts, you know what he still plays with the most?  His hockey sticks.  Constant hockey game up in here.

Last week my Uncle emailed me asking what Luke would like and said, “Don’t say nothing!”  So I told him books because the child does not need another toy.  So on Christmas when my Uncle gave Luke his present and it was piano, I immediately thought how Luke will love it and then he turned it on and my ears starting screaming and then I had a flash back and I said, “Uncle Kevin, I SAID BOOKS!”

“Yeah, but that’s no fun.”

I’ve learned that people really like to torture the parents.

Merry Christmas?  I think not.

I feel like this year was the best, most relaxing, drama free holiday I’ve had in a while.  My mom seemed really good, and while I realize this isn’t an everyday occurrence, I’m glad it could be like that on this day.  I also had a good conversation with my step-dad that put my heart in a peaceful place for now.

I even got a good laugh at my mom’s gift to my brother.  This is her way of being funny.

 

So yeah, this is our last Christmas as a family of three.  Wow.  Sort of can’t believe it.

Time for the New Year!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Merry belated Christmas! I’m glad Luke had so much fun. And I’m really glad your mom was doing well that day.

    Reply
  2. Merry Christmas to you and the whole family – I’m glad you had such a wonderful day 🙂

    Reply
  3. Oh, you know I love Luke and those hockey gloves. So glad to see that you had such a merry Christmas! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Sassafrass

     /  December 28, 2010

    OE got a cat piano from his aunt so we’re pretty sure she HATES us! He loves it though so it’s hard not to be annoyed (except at 7am. Thank god there is volume control on that thing)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

