I fell down the stairs

Yesterday morning I was really tired.  I woke up Friday at 1:00 am to Luke coughing in his sleep so I waited for him to stop.  He did.  At that point, I couldn’t fall back asleep and I had to pee.  I tried to go back to bed but then the heartburn set in and I couldn’t stand laying down much longer.  I got up and came downstairs and caught up on a few shows on the DVR and didn’t fall back asleep until around 5:30ish.  Luke was up around 7:30, so then I was too.

I had some stuff I wanted to get done  yesterday.  One of them was hemming some pants that are a bit long.  It was fine when I was stuffing them into boots but it’s not okay when I wear them with shoes because they get all wet from the melting snow.  Yuck.

Even though I could barely keep my eyes open, I finally got some laundry going and Rob and I cleaned up the house because our new cable provider installation dude was also coming.  After that I went upstairs to measure my jeans to another pair of jeans that I like the length of and that’s when I decided it might be better to do this project on the kitchen table.

I gather up the jeans, my water bottle (staying hydrated!), the iron (this is an iron on hem), and my phone and I get to the top of our VERY STEEP stair case and then…..I don’t know what happened.  I don’t know if I slipped, I don’t know if I tripped on the cord to the iron, I DON’T KNOW but suddenly I was flying down the stairs on my ass.

MY ASS HIT EVERY SINGLE STEP.

I think it took about 4 seconds.  It’s amazing what can go through your mind in 4 seconds.

First, I thought I’m going to catch myself any second.

Secondly, I thought nope, I’m going down this whole stair case.

Third, I thought I’m killing my baby OR this is what’s going to make him come early, I WAS SO RIGHT.

Finally, I was at the bottom and then I thought, son of a bitch, I have stuff to do today and I’ve just killed myself and then I started to cry and I couldn’t get up and Rob was like, OMG are you okay????

Rob helps me up and I start to see stars.  Like I’m totally going to faint.

That fainting crap happens two more times before finally it stops.

Rob tells me to call the doctor.  The doctor tells me the baby will be fine but I will be sore.  Tylenol, bed rest and ice.

I am pretty much sore all day to the point of tears and I’m also exhausted from zero sleep the night before.

I’m still sore today but not as bad.  I’ve managed to do a few things but basically the couch is my friend.

This is not the weekend I wanted.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Gosh! That must have been very scary. I’m glad you are alright.

    Reply
  2. I’m glad everything is ok. Relax and feel better soon!

    Reply
  3. Hope you’re feeling better today….. less sore!! At least baby G is ok.

    Reply
  4. michelle

     /  February 21, 2011

    I’m glad your okay, that’s scary to take a spill while pregnant.

    Reply
  5. Kristen

     /  February 22, 2011

    Scary. I hope you are resting and are okay.

    Reply
  6. Sassafrass

     /  February 23, 2011

    Oh no! Glad it was on your ass and not your belly. Hope you are feeling better!

    Reply
  7. Oh my gosh! I’m so sorry about that! I’m so glad everything’s okay, though! How scary!!!

    Reply
  8. Oh my goodness, girlie. That is so scary and I am so so so sorry that happened. I’m so glad that everything is okay. xoxoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

