I’m in control, my worries are few…

I got a new attitude!

Just like the song.

Today I woke up at 4:30 am with a new outlook.  I didn’t put too much thought into it, it just came to me.

I was up so I wrote a paper.  After that I looked at my to do list and started sending out emails and scratching things off and feeling accomplished.

That always makes me feel better.

Luke seriously slept in today, until 9:00 am.  I took down the gate right away when I got up so he could come down on his own….he was all smiles and happy to see me.

I made a quick decision when he came down the stairs that I’m going to assume he wants to help with everything and I’m going to make sure I’m patient enough to let him.  I had a realization yesterday that I used to be more patient with him and I think lately due to some of the circumstances, I haven’t been.  This could be part of the reason for the tantrums.

Every morning he lets out Star and feeds her.  This morning I didn’t care that Star was impatient and barking at the back door while he got her food and took forever, I just let him do it.  Also, he likes to help me make his breakfast but was getting mad at me if I made it while he was feeding the dog, so today I just got everything out and waited for him.  I just cleaned up a bit while I waited instead of rushing him.  There was no tantrum today.

I’m also talking everything up big and changed the tone of my voice to everything being exciting and how he can help me rather than hinder me.  Not that I ever said that to him, but you know….choosing my words more wisely.

It worked today.  Will it work tomorrow?  I don’t know, but it’s better than the previous so I’m going to do my best to keep it up.

The pedicure and haircut yesterday was also rejuvenating!  And my tailbone?  IT FEELS SO MUCH BETTER.

AND THE SNOW IS MELTING.

Goodbye, snow.

Also?  Today when I planned to work on an online test (not due until next week), I decided not to and took up a friends offer to meet her at a sale instead.  Because the test could wait.  So there.  🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Sassafras

     /  March 11, 2011

    =)

    Reply
  2. michelle

     /  March 11, 2011

    Glad to hear there are less worries. Enjoy the sunshine!

    Reply
  3. YAY – The snow is melting!!!
    Enjoy the “new attitude!” 🙂

    Reply
  4. I think part of better attitudes is the better weather. I swear I do! We’ve had gorgeous days here recently and everyone has been in better moods. I’m like you though… I strongly believe our children pick up on our moods and tailor theirs accordingly. I notice with my boys especially at night (if I’m at home alone and doing the dinner/bath/bed routine by myself) the more relaxed and happier I am…. the more so they are. If I let my exhaustion and anxiousness show through, the boys tend to be more difficult and the dinner/bath/bed routine is so much more difficult……. I like being around people with good attitudes. Just goes to show us how much we affect our children.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

