This Morning

Everything so far has been really, really good.  I have to say though, the hardest thing?  Luke.  He has been amazing and so welcoming to his little  brother, but he misses me.  And I miss him.  Our first night home he woke up in the  night with a fever and Rob had to go be with him and he was so upset it wasn’t me.  It tore at my heart.  And he keeps asking me to do stuff and I really can’t.  I WILL eventually, but these first few days home I have been focusing on Gavin and the food supply.

Gavin was doing great through the night, until Monday night when he woke up to eat every hour.  I was so terribly exhausted this morning and trying to get Luke dressed for our an appointment we all needed to attend.  Luke and I were upstairs alone and I picked out his clothes, he immediately got upset and whiny about the shirt I picked out for him and I said, “Really Luke?  COME ON!”.  The moment I said it I felt awful because the way I said it was because I was so tired.  Luke put his head down and started to cry.

I pulled him into me and then I started to cry.  Luke said, “I miss you, Mommy.”

Oh man, my heart exploded.  We just sat there for a while with his head on my shoulder.  Then I told him how I picked out that shirt for him because he looked so handsome in it (that is true!) and he agreed and put it on.

*posted a day late….4/12/11

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. OH girl! I feel you!! It will get easier…. I promise! Luke will adjust a little more and you will too…. as each day passes and thinks with Gavin calm down some it will all work out.

    For the first month I was home with BB, LM wanted to be ANYWHERE but home! He was me as the “enemy”. Today…. he has to kiss his little bro and me before he leaves the house.

    Luke knows you love him and won’t remember this come several months down the road. 🙂 Hang in there and get as much rest as you can!!

    Reply
  2. Obviously I have no advice in this area, because it’s just the 3 of us….But I have to think it will get easier as everyone gets used to the new routine. Keep your chin up. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Sassafras

     /  April 14, 2011

    Oh man. It will get better, it will! I know I will be writing this soon enough though and you can remind me that it will!

    Glad to hear things are otherwise going well!

    Reply
  4. Hugs to you and Luke and Gavin and Rob and Star and, oh, gosh, this is just going to get easier and easier and more wonderful and more wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

