Gimme a break, I sure deserve it

Every time I woke up last night to feed G, I had piercing headache pain behind my right eye.  I think it was because I was hungry but I was too tired to get up and make a snack.  I still have the same headache now.  Blech.

This weekend was crazy packed full of stuff to do or get done and it was a bit of a surprise because I didn’t know it was going to be that way.

Friday:  errands, grocery shopping, walk to the park, organizing, dinner with friends, and then a 45 minute temper tantrum before bedtime.

Saturday:  Cleaning, Rob mows lawn, I ran to store to buy totes for toys for the FINISHED shelf downstairs, impromptu dinner with neighbors at their house, impromptu visit from friends, more cleaning up, and no temper tantrum before bed but still a lot of requests for water, snacks, visits from Santa, etc.

Sunday:  visit from Cousin and she got here early, wrap a birthday present, go to a birthday party, look exhausted the whole time but at least I didn’t have to make dinner because we ate at the party, come home from party, collapse, do some more laundry, become afraid the dryer is going to blow up and tell Rob to prevent that from happening, we all attempt to go to bed early but still no one really goes to sleep until at least 10:30.

I’m just exhausted.  I’m taking today off other than laundry and making dinner.  I might even try to nap today.

Next weekend we have been asked to go up north to my aunt and uncle’s, as we always are, but I just don’t think I can go this year.  I don’t mean to sound like one of those people who doesn’t take her newborn anywhere but the issue is taking care of the G nugget while also entertaining Luke.  There won’t be other kids there, we’d have to bring a ton of toys….it just seems like too much.  I’d rather fill up Luke’s pool and chill out in my back yard all weekend and take one night to go on a date with my husband, and maybe EVEN go to a movie by myself.  Bridesmaids is calling my name, LOUDLY.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. When BB was born, we slowed down a lot. For me, the going and doing was exhausting with 2 kiddos. We took time to just hang around the house and just enjoy being together. Now, a year later….. I’m ready to do and go more. We’re lucky in that we have a great neighborhood with some young families…. sounds like you’re making friends in yours too. Being close to friends makes like so much easier. And if you think going up north would be too much, don’t. If you could get some alone time and a date night in one weekend, you need to go for it!! Think of what YOU need right now. As moms, we tend to put ourselves at the bottom of the list. I think it’s fair to do what WE want every once in a while.

    Reply
  2. Sassafras

     /  May 28, 2011

    Oh don’t go. It’s just not worth the mental anguish. There will be next year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

