The Present

I am a horrible gift giver.  My problem isn’t the giving, it’s trying to figure out the best gift.  The result of that is letting the day pass without a gift because I don’t have the right one.  Christmas is the only exception to that because it seems easier to make the time to Christmas shop and I tend to write things down ahead of time to get Rob and Luke, but of course it doesn’t go without a lot of fretting over what to get those two but especially anyone who doesn’t live in this house with me, I really over think it and wonder if they are going to like what I get them.

I’ve been known to give a lot of gifts late  because of this crazy part of me.

My brother’s birthday was April 20th….both cards for him have sat on the counter since then but because I haven’t found the perfect gift.  I don’t think he thinks much of it, but I do.  I usually get something small for my friend’s daughter, her birthday was over a month ago…and nothing.  Now I’m freaking out because here comes Father’s Day which means both Rob and my dad will need a gift AND my dads birthday.

The other issue is that these medical bills suck.  The reason for the medical bills doesn’t suck…well, he does but only on his pacifier but he is so darling cute that it’s worth it!

Anyway, my bank account is not so present friendly.  It’s not that money isn’t there to buy a gift if I knew what to buy, but I feel guilty like all of our money needs to be going towards these medical bills.

I also feel the need to cancel our cable and cell phones.  It’s not that we can’t afford it, but again, I feel like it’s a luxury that we shouldn’t partake in when the medical bills keep flowing in.  And I don’t want to use our savings to pay it off because then what if a car breaks down?

Friday I made some payments on the bills and waited until today to sort through them all.  I was seriously staring at 10 different bills, some as small as 10.00 but also some larger.  I called today because I didn’t want them to think I was ignoring any of them but I was trying to make payments on some.  She was able to combine them to make only two separate bills so that will be helpful, and it won’t feel so overwhelming every month when I open my mail box and have them rain all over my feet.

Needless to say, I can’t wait until I’m done with school and working again.  I have to keep my eye on the prize.  I have to stay hopeful that there will even be a PRIZE.  There better be a freaking prize.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. michelle

     /  June 6, 2011

    There will be a prize waiting for you. All your hard work will pay off. 🙂

    Reply
  2. We don’t have any unnecessary bills now and have gotten rid of a lot. (And not noticed….like cable or landline.) Sometimes it can be completely overwhelming though.

    Reply
  3. Oh the medical bills….. I’m still paying on the big hospital from BB’s birth. It can be overwhelming so I feel your pain.

    And for the perfect gift….. you’re probably stressing way more than those who you’re giving the gift to. But, I get that that’s just your thing so… Good luck with the upcoming “perfect” gift finding! 🙂

    Reply
  4. There’s going to be a HUGE prize! And you’re kicking all sorts of ass at school, so keep that up, missy!

    I’m sure you’ve seen my many, many blog posts about being a crappy gift giver, too. Apparently we both we born without that skill. Tragic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

