There’s a poll, so keep reading

God must be smiling on me now because both of my children are napping.  One is also in his crib for the THIRD day in a row.  And one is still wearing a diaper so you know, life isn’t all rainbows.

There have been a few times over the last two years that I have contemplated making this blog more accessible to people in my real life.  Then it’s weeks like this that I say thank you LORD in heaven I did not follow through on that.

This is MY place.  A place where I can come and be whatever I want.  A place where I’ve met some really cool people, albeit online, but whatev.  STILL AWESOME.  And all mine.  And I can whateve like however many times I want to.  And use AND all the time.  And.  And.  AND.

There are no whiny children in this place.  Hallelujah for that.

Today Luke said to me, “Changing my diaper makes me whiny, Momma!”  Well then.  GO ON THE POTTY, CHILD.

Let’s stop for a second and take a small poll:

On a scale of 1 to 10, how pissed would you be if:

You’re married (5 years or longer to which I don’t think that should be relevant) to someone and one of their parents passes away.  You arrive at the funeral home to see the family has chosen photos to put into a slide show during the visitation.  You are sitting there minding your own business…probably watching said slide show and remembering the times you have spent with this parent-in-law when OH, there is a picture with your husband’s exwife.  Hmmm, okay, good enough.  You are not thrilled but whatever, life is life.  And then OH, there is a picture with your husband’s EX girlfriend.  Well now…that’s interesting.  But the slide show continues on and on and on…..and well hmmm, WHERE ARE YOU?

NOT IN ONE SINGLE PICTURE.

You realize this is a FUNERAL and timing is everything so you don’t do or say anything except to the one person you know you can.  But still.

I’m pretty sure I’d be a TEN.  A silent angry TEN but still a TEN none the less.

And you?

Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. 11. Wow.

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

     /  August 18, 2011

    It was enough to send chills on my arms. 10. I can’t imagine the hurt that must cause. Alreay hurting from the loss of FIL, compiled by that. I”m sure there were plenty of photos to choose from.

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  August 18, 2011

    was ex at the funeral?

    Reply
  4. Stacey

     /  August 18, 2011

    NO! No exes at funeral.

    Reply
  5. Diapers continue at our place too. “NO! DON’T CHANGE MY DIAPER!” Then go in the potty, goddammit. Worse, he is potty trained at daycare but flat out refuses at home.

    I think a 10 is fair. My cousin’s wife put together a slideshow when my aunt died, and she included a picture of every single foster child she’s ever housed, but NO pictures of my other cousin’s wife or kids. The excluded cousin’s wife was PISSED.

    Reply
  6. I’m a 10 right there with you!

    Reply
  7. Try a 12…. b/c that’s just plain rude! Hello! photo editing!

    As for the potty, if you find some special trick…. pass it on! My kid refuses! Flat out refuses to use the damn potty…. I even tried bribing him to pee outside.

    Reply
  8. OMG. Totally a 10.

    Reply
  9. Sass

     /  August 22, 2011

    Yup, a 10.

    Reply
  10. Oh, so awkward on top of an event that is already awkward and horrible enough. Like you, a silent 10.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

