Your Help

I’m not one to do this.  I know what I believe, I know what I do to get me through life but I rarely put that out there.  I’m not the person who reposts all those prayer chains and I don’t think I need to post anything on my Facebook status so that God knows I believe.  Even if I only have to do it for 30 minutes.

But this Wednesday I have to go to a hearing in front of a judge to talk about guardianship for my mom.  My step dad will be there.  I do not like him.  My brother will be there.  We are not speaking (sort of, we are just both being stubborn but still).

I am really scared.  I am really nervous.

I just want to be heard.  I just want what’s best for my mom’s care and I do not believe that my step dad has taken the proper steps.

I was the one who initiated two of her visits to a mental hospital.  I was the one who took her to the emergency room because everyone else was ignoring the obvious.

I was the one who called Adult Protective Services that’s putting us in this court room.

I’m going to tell the judge that on Wednesday.  That will be when my step dad finds out it was me and I don’t care anymore.

All I care about is that it’s understood that I wouldn’t do that for someone if I didn’t love them and have their best interest in my heart.

Because I’m so scared shitless.

I want to say the right thing in the right way.  I want to be heard.

I want to stop thinking about how my mom will never know my children.  And they will never know her.

I want her taken care of the right way.  Not half halfheartedly.

I don’t want my step dad to be allowed to keep her like a prisoner in own home.

I want the money she worked so hard for to be used the right way for her care.

I just want to do the right thing.

So maybe on Wednesday when you are going about your day and you happen to look at the clock at 1:30 or 2:00 or even when you wake up in the morning….say a prayer for me.  Or just say anything.  Wish me luck, send me good vibes, just think about me.  Just be with me for that one second if it crosses your mind.

I need that.

Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. You got it!! It’s okay to be scared but you’re doing what you have to do out of love for your mom. If you’re the only voice for her, then you need to be loud! You’ll say what you need to say because it’s important. I’ll def send good vibes and say prayers.

    Reply
  2. erin

     /  September 27, 2011

    Oh, I hate that you have to deal with this. I don’t know you, or your situation, but I DO know your heart is in the right place and you have nothing but your mom’s best interests in mind. I will think of you, I will pray for you, and I know you will be heard. Be brave, be strong, and speak confidently. You will be heard. Sending hugs, and strength your way, wishing I could buy you a cocktail when it’s over!

    Reply
  3. What an amazing daughter you are. Even if your mom can’t say it she knows you are acting as her advocate. Good luck today. I will be sending good thoughts your way.

    Reply
  4. I will definitely keep you in my thoughts and prayers. I hope this will work out the way that’s best for your mom!

    Reply
  5. Michelle S.

     /  September 27, 2011

    I will definitely be thinking of you. You can do this, you will know what to say, as it will come from your heart. You will be heard and I’m confident the judge will do what they can to help your mom. Be strong and don’t hold back the things that need to be said. I love you.

    Reply
  6. I am thinking of you now and will think of you at the time. Good luck today. You are a good daughter.

    Reply
  7. Sass

     /  September 27, 2011

    Absolutely. You are her daughter and you have a special relationship with her, trust that you know what is best for her. At the end of the day YOU know that you fought hard for her no matter what happens. Good luck. Hugs!

    Reply
  8. Judy

     /  September 28, 2011

    I will say a prayer for you and your family. You are a wonderful daughter, and you have to do what is right for your mom, to help her. It is obvious that this is a terrible situation and you are struggling with it, but know you’ve done and are doing everything you can to care for your mom! You can do this!

    you’re in my thoughts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

