November First

I love November.  I love November because it’s cozy, it’s full of good food, it’s scarf weather but not always full fledged coat weather, it has those wonderful days that are warmer than you think they should be and everyone is outside.

I took the boys to the park tonight and the streets were full, FULL I say, of people.  And when we rounded the corner to home it was just getting slightly dark out and all the kids were still playing and I could smell the leaves burning from the house down the street and surprisingly my own.

I’m in a secret fight (not so secret to my husband) with the leaves in our yard.  After several attempts and an unfortunate (similar to a bar brawl) fight with a plastic leaf bag I gave up and took the boys to the park.  I would’ve been swearing like a trucker FOR SURE if Luke wasn’t right there asking me why I was beating up a leaf bag. So like a good husband should, he took care of those nasty leaves while I was gone and thank God for good husbands.  There is something about yard work that I WANT to do it.  I do.  But not really.  I don’t know.

I have a surprise for all of you.  ALL THREE OF YOU!  I know, right?

I’m going to blog every day this month for….National Blog Month, is it?  I don’t know but I’m going to do it and I’m also going to do a photo challenge.  It’s been titled an October photo challenge, but I didn’t come across it until October 5th or something so I’m going with November.  Today is the first day (obvs) and I didn’t remember until today so I took this self-portrait with my cell phone, right here, on this very couch where I sat down to watch my DVR’d The View and answer a few questions for homework.

I promise the rest of the pictures will be taken with my real camera.  Maybe.

So yeah, self portrait.  Not easy because I hate when I take my own picture because I feel like I look like my mom (but not when other people take my picture) and well….I don’t like that.  But that’s too deep for this simple self portrait, so here it is.

I had to pick the black and white filter because between the orange glow of the energy-saving light bulb and the TV my skin was not looking good.  And just so you know, I hate it.  But who cares.  It’s me.

To wrap this up I’m going to show you a picture of my new favorite Halloween decoration (this is a bonus, not part of the photo challenge).  It seems I have a ton of fall decorations but not much for Halloween so I picked this clearance item up last week and Rob said the ghost expression looks like…..well, it doesn’t matter.

Cute.

Goodbye, Halloween.  Hello, Thanksgiving.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Michelle S.

     /  November 2, 2011

    this sounds fun. Can’t wait to read them and see your photos. Cute self portrait. I have noticed you don’t do many of those, so it’s a nice surprise.

    Reply
  2. Good luck! I can’t commit to the NoBoMo whatever it’s called. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

