I have the guts, or I better get them

Today I read a tweet that said something like, “I think I want to start running again.  I miss it.”  And I replied, “That’s the thing about running.”  Because it is the thing.  Once you’ve run, and ran to a place you didn’t think you could run to, and beat your time, and improved your strength, and transformed your body…there’s no turning back.  I miss that place.  While I’m still very much active keeping up with the house and these two monkey butt’s, nothing replaces the feeling of a good run.

I also read something that said, “You know you’re a runner when you see people running along side the road and you get jealous.”  That is so true of me.  My first instinct is to yell, “YEAH, good job!”  Especially when it’s someone who doesn’t look like a runner (you know what I mean) and my second is to go home, put my running shoes on and run.

However!  I have two kiddos who run my schedule and that makes it difficult.  When Luke was a baby I just put him the in the bouncy next to the treadmill and let the rhythmic sound of my feet hitting the treadmill lull him to sleep.  Worked like a charm.  It doesn’t seem that easy now.  But I think I could do it when Gavin naps and if Luke is just playing downstairs.  I can try to make that work.  I’m running a race in March so I guess I better make it work.

“A lot of people run a race to see who is fastest. I run to see who has the most guts, who can punish himself into exhausting pace, and then at the end, punish himself even more.”-unknown

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’ve always wished I was a runner but I am not. I do miss exercise though and the endorphins! Maybe someday…

    Reply
  2. I’m counting down the days when I can get back to it!! I know with 3 it will be even harder to find the time but I’m determined! I love the feeling and almost as important the time I’m running I’m totally disconnected from everything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

