Leaving Blue for Red and Green

Sunday I was blue.  Not smurf blue.  Sad blue.  The kind of eat a lot of peanut M&M’s blue.  I know Jen is reading this (my bff) and rolling her eyes like I probably only really ate a handful of M&M’s but I really did eat a half of a bag that was an 8 serving bag.

There’s a lot of protein in those nuts.  That’s all I’m saying.

My dad went to a rehabilitation place on Friday and I don’t like it.  I don’t like it one bit. What’s hard is that my dad is not the get up and move to make himself better type of person.  He’s a lazy person.  He does the least of whatever is required of him when it comes to anything physical. That’s just who he is and whatever, that’s okay but when you’re 62 and have laid in bed for 12 days, it’s not good on your body so he really needs to work hard to build up his strength again so he can come home. So I’m sad about that. I’m sad that he made a comment that he might not leave the rehabilitation center to come over for Christmas because it might be too hard for him to go back in. I get that.  But then I felt sad because Christmas would be weird with no one here but us. Rob thinks that’s weird when I say that. I don’t mean that our family of 4 isn’t enough but what I do mean is that it seems lonely. It seems not how I pictured it ever and this is my first Christmas without my mom in her right frame of mind. I’m not ready to not have my dad here too.

But my dad called me this morning  promising he would be home for Christmas (even if he has to go back) and asked me to make a prime rib.We usually have a big Polish feast with help from my mom and step-dad but that’s not happening anymore so we are making a new tradition and it’s going to be prime rib.  PRIME RIB!  I’ve never made prime rib, but I found a really yummy recipe that I think will be a hit.

It also helped that Rob had today off so we had planned to go visit Santa with the boys.  After the Santa visit I had a few errands to run for my dad so we dropped the boys off with my MIL.  We took care of my dads stuff, then we went out to lunch and I had 2 margaritas! WATCH OUT! Then together we went to finish up some odds and ends stocking stuffers which Rob probably would never understand this but that meant so much to me. And finally we stopped to visit my dad before picking up the boys.

Now that all my shopping is done and I have a Christmas dinner to prepare (it makes me happy to feed people), I feel content.

I got all A’s this semester too, which I found out last night when I checked my grades.

Last week my MIL told me that she loves me and that she got really lucky with having me for a DIL and that she couldn’t ask for a better one. I remember a time that I never thought it would be that way.  I feel lucky too.

I can’t wait for Christmas morning.  I’m off to make my grocery list!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Jenna

     /  December 20, 2011

    YELLOW Stacey, I miss you. I’m BLUE that you were BLUE. I’m also PINK from fever & feeling like crap. Oh & I’m WHITE, like pale moon WHITE. (wish I still got free tanning!) I am also GREEN with envy that Rob shopped with you…I understand how meaningful that was. I was also wondering, during all your busy-ness, if you RED Twilight yet? Knock Knock. Who’s there? Banana. Banana who? Knock Knock. Who’s there? Banana. Banana who? Knock Knock. Who’s there? Orange. Orange who? ORANGE you glad I didn’t say banana? 🙂

    Reply
  2. Michelle S.

     /  December 20, 2011

    Hugs. Glad to hear you and Rob got out for some time together. Sounds like it was what you needed.

    Good job on all A’s. You rock sister. So proud of you. What an accomplishment.

    Very sweet of your MIL to share her feelings.

    Reply
  3. All A’s???? That’s fantastic!!

    I hope your prime rib comes out beautifully – I’m sure everything will be perfect 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!!!
    xoxoxoxo Anastasia

    Reply
  4. Anonymous

     /  December 23, 2011

    good job on getting your protein in!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

