Unhairy

By far the most significant pregnancy side effect for me is hair loss. Postpartum hair loss is normal for a lot of woman but for me it happens times a million.

Here’s what Baby Centers says is happening:

After you give birth, your estrogen levels take a tumble and a lot more hair follicles enter the resting stage. Soon you’ll have more hair coming out in the shower or on the brush. This unusual shedding will taper off and your hair will be back to its pre-pregnancy thickness about six to 12 months after you give birth.

That pre-pregnancy thickness in 6-12 months is a lie because here’s where I’m at:

(These are from the goof booth pics on my birthday where I noticed how my hair looks and it makes me want to cry, I mean it made me want to cry before these pictures but this shows why)

This is also a taste of how I might look if I was pointing out how there is mud on the floor and I don’t like it. But I’m not doing that here. I don’t think.

And my favorite is underneath where there is clearly a WHOLE LAYER OF HAIR growing in.

(That’s Rob mid-cough, he’ll be happy I posted this)

I’m happy it’s growing back in so I’m trying not to be too shallow because some people have real hair loss for real reasons but I hate my head right now. I hate doing my hair, I hate it up, I hate it down, ugh. I’ve thought about cutting it into more of a shorter style and then let it grow out again but eh, that might make me cry more.

Gavin is 9 months old so I’m looking at summer before it’s even close. The upside is Econ 2 and Statistics will be over so there’s a lot to look forward to for summer.

(The other side effect for me was constipation.  I bet you’re glad I wrote about this and not THAT! You’re welcome.)

 

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. My hair is growing in at the bang area and so I have these little spikes that won’t stay down no matter how much product I put in. Also I hate my hair too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

