Non Water Baby

Rob is out fishing.

We went to a cookout with friends yesterday and didn’t get home until almost 9:00 and I still wanted to do baths. That means both kids didn’t get to bed until almost 10:00.

They were still up by 8:00 am this morning.

I think Gavin is ready for his morning nap already. He was actually ready at 8:45 but I’m putting it off.

I am also ready for a morning nap.

We usually head north to visit family on this weekend but decided to stay home.

In my opinion, 12 to 18 months is a hard stage for toddlers. They are into everything, they don’t understand danger, and you cannot take your eyes of them for a second. And the stairs. Luke went through the same thing with stairs and holy cow I didn’t think stairs could be so annoying. Up the stairs, down the stairs, up the stairs, down the stairs. The problem is they are not steady enough on their feet so that’s why we have gates. But people without kids do not have gates just lying around to put up so parents spend the entire time standing at the bottom of the stairs making sure the child does not fall to their death.

It doesn’t help when the entire stair case is wood. Not that I would let them just roll down a carpeted staircase either.

This is also not a relaxing way to spend the weekend.

Saturday was blah because of weather.

Sunday proved to be different so for breakfast I made blueberry pancakes. After breakfast we packed up for an early beach trip as to not interrupt Gavin’s afternoon nap.

The beach was fun.

Luke still hates water.

The summer Luke turned one and he hated water, I was all, “Well, he’s little!”

The summer Luke turned two and still hated water, I was all, “He just needs to warm up to it! He’s just cautious.”

The summer Luke turned three it wasn’t as bad, but still not great. He would put his feet in water, he would run through a small pool but that’s the extent of it. I thought things were changing though and I figured THIS summer would be THE summer.

Nope. He still hates it. If we even approach him about going in water a little deeper than his knees or running through a splash-pad park he starts crying like we dumped a bucket of water over his head.

I am losing my patience. I want him to have fun! I feel like he’s missing out!

I’ve talked to other moms with kids who have acted similar and some kids get over it and some kids are just not into water. And never get into it.

I’ll admit, I’m not much of a swimmer or anything like that, but I certainly liked to play in water when I was younger. I can understand having the fear of the lake, but a splash pad? A sprinkler?

Yes, A SPRINKLER.

It’s hard. It’s hard when you don’t know how to explain it to them. And the thing about water is it CAN be scary and it can be dangerous.

We’ve thought about swim lessons but that’s a lot of money for him to stand on the side of the pool for every session.

When Rob gets home from fishing, we are going to a movie and having a date.

Happy Memorial Day!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

