Random

Last week was my second week as an intern. I’m still liking it and actually liking it more than I did the first week. After not working outside the house since 2009, I was afraid that maybe even though I have always known I wanted to work outside the house and not be a full time mom that it’s possible I had changed. That I wouldn’t be good at it anymore.

I was wrong. I love it. And last week was sort of when my brain snapped back into action. I had two great ideas that I shared with coworkers that was taken really well and implemented! And I administered my first testing class where I was the one who actually led it and I felt really good about it. Seems I didn’t change that much after all.

Thursday afternoon took a turn though. At about 4:00 as I was wrapping up a phone call my cell phone vibrated next to me on my desk and when I looked down to read it, I gasped. A text from my brother.

“I guess Aunt T passed away today”

I gasped, like I said. She wasn’t sick. It’s not as if we were expecting it, in fact, it was quite unexpected. My dad has 3 younger sisters and my Aunt T is the baby of the 4 of them. I texted him back.

“You guess or she did pass away?” I mean, I wasn’t sure how to absorb his text.

“No, she did die.” He responded.

I called my dad on the way home, he was upset, as he should be. I think the hardest thing for him is that it feels “out of order” for him. That they should all die in the same order they were born. Not realistic, but I understand his thought process.

Rob & I left the kids with his mom yesterday as we traveled to the east side to be with family. I know the reason was sad but man, we really had a great day together. We chatted the whole way there, spent time with family, and chatted the whole way home. We came home to a baby sleeping with a fat lip & a 3.8 year old with a bee sting. But they were alive so I think grandma did her job just fine.

Besides all the family comments about how too skinny I am, it was a good day.

The next three weekends are pretty packed full & by then I’ll be done with this internship. Weird. And then Luke will be four. Even weirder.

Today was his first day with no training wheels on his bike. He is so proud when he does so well & so disappointed in himself if he falls. I have no idea where he gets that. Ha.

Gavin had his first corn on the cob today. It was awesome. Not just for him but for all of us.

20120709-213340.jpg

20120709-213354.jpg

20120709-213405.jpg

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Michelle S.

     /  July 10, 2012

    cute corn pictures. I love the one with his face in his plate.

    Reply
  2. I’m sorry about your aunt. It’s always a bit of a shock when someone passes away expectantly. Glad you had a good time though, and that Gavin, so adorable!

    Reply
  3. So sorry to hear about your aunt. I’m glad you were able to be there and had a good day with Rob. The last picture is how Wes likes to eat his corn =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

