Professional Interviewer

I have my heart set on a permanent position. In the last week I’ve been interviewed twice for a permanent position, three times for a temporary position, one more time for another temporary position, and today I’ll have another phone interview for another permanent position.

It didn’t really occur to me that I might not like the environment of the big eight person interview I had yesterday. That’s not really the extent of it but that twice it was mentioned that room for growth would have to mean moving to another state. As  much as I fantasize about how nice it would be to move to another state, deep in my heart I don’t think I could ever do it.

All this interviewing is stressful. I was offered the temporary position yesterday. I told her I would give her an answer on Monday. This position would start in May with a few days here and there before and then through  August. The nice part about it is this place actually leases out a floor of the hospital I was working in previously so it’s all very familiar and I would only be one floor up from all the people I worked with before. The negative part is that it’s temporary again. It’s not so much that I’m opposed to it but more that I don’t feel like I’m setting any roots down. I’m not building up vacation time or a retirement fund. I do think I’ll get a little more exposure in some parts of Human Resources that I didn’t get enough exposure to at the hospital. But I hate feeling like I can’t take time off. I felt like that a lot at the hospital but that faded the longer I worked there when I realized they didn’t expect me to never want time off.

I got rejected yesterday for the position not included in any of these (I was never contacted, just got a rejection email) and then I got rejected for the second temporary position for lack of experience.

I didn’t get an offer from the eight person interview yet but I’m kind of hoping I don’t get an offer. If I learned anything though it’s that an eight person interview is not that scary. I did a really good job and I could feel that I was doing a good job. Everyone was really nice and welcoming and I did really like the people. I practiced so much that I think any interview that I might get in the future will be better because of it.

I’m scared that the temporary work on my resume looks bad (sort of like job hopping) but that I guess I can just tell myself that this would have to be the last temporary job I would do. At the end of August I will be even closer to finishing my degree (next year!).

But then I think about going back to all this interviewing again in September and ugh. It’s just a lot.

The Silver Fox called me yesterday (she calls me a lot, she misses me as I do her!) and said that The Big Chicken asked her what was up with me yesterday. She wants to bring me back on assignment again until September and is looking to get it approved. The Silver Fox told her I was interviewing heavily. I think if I were to go back to a temporary job I think I would rather be with all of them and if that doesn’t work then the closest I can get to them is one floor up.

One minute all these people are interested, then nope you’re rejected, then maybe, then yes, then what?

It’s all so exciting and confusing.

But this post is just plain boring.

The exciting news is that we are redoing Luke’s room and making it into a fire station THIS WEEKEND. I’ll be sure to take before and after pictures so I have something exciting to post.

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Jenna

     /  March 8, 2013

    I waited TWO YEARS for the perfect permanent position…hang in there! It’ll happen! Love ya!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

