A Small Rant

There is something bugging me since I found out about it and I just have to get it out. I don’t usually write stuff like this because more than likely I don’t take the time to think about it. I like to hear or read what’s going on with celebrities but I don’t really have an opinion either way but this one is really annoying me. I also have my own problems and I like to be woe is me rather than worry about my friends in Hollywood yet….

Angelina Jolie. Instead of getting abnormally annoyed every time I hear something about her recent decision on her double mastectomy, I decided to do a little research on what exactly happened because I don’t like to write about something I feel when I’m wrong about what it is I’m having feelings about. Angelina had the tests done that showed she did have the mutated gene that could eventually make her sick with breast or ovarian cancer. I know her mom had breast cancer but died from ovarian cancer, and her grandmother also had ovarian cancer. I can imagine that is scary to then find out she also had the gene. I can understand her choice to have the double mastectomy so that her 87% chance of breast cancer would reduce to under 5% but it’s just all the ridiculous media behind it. I guess it’s her announcement, the praise of the doctors, the articles of her appearance and how she looks post surgery. Ugh.

This is not something that an average person making average money could do. We can’t all afford to pay for these tests and the required surgeries one might need if one didn’t like the results of said tests and it makes me feel more like she’s flaunting it than making anyone “aware” of anything. I can get behind awareness campaigns or if she actually had one of those cancers and had to make some difficult decisions to save her life, I get that, but this was her choice based on information (not a diagnosis) and she is praised and written about continuously.

I’m annoyed, can you tell?

In one of the articles there’s just a little snippet she either wrote or made comment, “I can tell my children that they don’t need to fear they will lose me to breast cancer.” Can you? Can you really tell them that? Maybe she was just making this comment for sake of making it but the way this is all being discussed I almost believe she did say it to her children.

I believe that you are going to die when you are supposed to die. Who knows what it will be from but whatever it is, that’s what it was supposed to be. Sometimes people have to fight for their lives, sometimes they don’t have a choice, and sometimes you are just driving along and you’re gone. When that happens, it’s what is supposed to happen. It feels to me like she’s trying to play God. But now that I’ve written this, I can say with certainty her actions are out of fear. It’s probably less about her and more about her children. Eh, my rant is over.

During my “research” I also found an article that said Brad still smokes pot. Really? He looks high in every picture, I would not have guessed that.

It’s no secret I’m not a fan of AJ. I’ve written about her before, but I would like to make it clear that I don’t feel this way because it’s HER. Even though she and Brad said they were not getting married until it was EQUALITY FOR EVERYONE yet Jennifer Aniston gets engaged last summer and suddenly THE WEDDING IS ON.

Whatever.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. badger reader

     /  June 12, 2013

    My judgy rant on this topic is that it appears (from complete outsider) that it sure feels easier for her to get tested for the gene and decide to take these proactive/radical decisions having unlimited financial resources, a strong solid life partner who will continue to find her desirable, and already born the biological children she wants. Would she have made the same choices if single/alone and 30? Did she care about getting tested for mutation before procreating? There is no discussion of the fact that she feels so scared and threatened by the genes she has potentially passed onto her own offspring. As someone unmarried, undecided about testing (and how results would alter my outlook), and undecided about offspring, the publicity surrounding her decisions feels sanctimonious.

    Reply
  2. Jenna

     /  June 12, 2013

    Lol! Everyone in Hollywood can SUCK IT in my opinion 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

