Friends, I miss you!

I often wonder how anyone has time to see their friends anymore. Maybe they don’t and I just assume they do but I feel like this is the one part of my life that I cannot get a handle on. I miss my friends! Talking on the phone was cut in half when Luke was born. I could maybe sneak in a phone call when he went to bed or during his nap but usually at night and I was ready for bed too or the people I wanted to talk to were at work when he was napping. Since Gavin has been born talking on the phone has become a thing of the past. I can barely make necessary phone calls to the car dealer to bring the car in or to the doctor to make an appointment without having to lock myself in the bathroom. Don’t worry,  they’re knocking on the door for me so I know they are still okay.

Texting is helpful but not the same as talking. We exchange the occasional “I miss you!” or “Some people are so annoying” texts. Funny how usually we know who these people are without having to really ask. My favorite text is, “I made a list of things to talk about the next time we hang out.” Oh yes, it is not a surprise for me to show up with my friends with an outline of what we need to discuss.

We often make plans to go the park but between all of our families and all of our different schedules, it can sometimes take a week or two to get a night hammered down. Even then we spend the time at the park only hearing snippets of each conversation because one of us always has to walk away at some point to rescue a child. Once in a blue moon we can get a dinner in without the kids. It’s nice and there is no one there to interrupt us but I feel like I’m racing to get everything out I need them to know because I like opinions! I like advice! Tell me what to do with my life! It’s like speed dating but not. Speed friending.

I have seven friends that I would like to see regularly. I’d like to bottle these girls up, throw them in the back of my van, and haul them off to a cabin on the Lake Michigan. I want to eat chips and salsa in my pajama pants while we chatter on endlessly or lay on the beach in silence while we all read a book and only speaking when looking up and saying something like, “That guy should not be in a speedo.”

But it’s hard, man. Right now I only have two nights a week that I really get to spend time with Rob. I miss him too. We like to talk. We are both talkers. Last night we got to talk without interruption for about 25 minutes and I felt that same way I feel when I meet my friends for dinner. I have a million things to say and I have to hurry up and get them out because when we are home together at the same time the kids have a way of manipulating all of our time to make it all about them. They are little attention suckers like that. And while they do this they are simultaneously creating loads of dirty laundry by the minute. They are tiny multitaskers as well.

Someday, somehow, I’d like to meet a few of my internet friends. I swear I’m going to make it happen.

So friends, I miss you. I still adore you. I’m on your team and I root for you everyday even if you don’t know it. Someday we’ll get that weekend away on Lake Michigan and we’ll laugh our asses off.

And Rob, we’ll have plenty of time to talk when both boys are late for curfew and we are plotting their punishment and how we can make it last until they are forty. I love you. Keep grabbing my ass when we pass each other on our way in and out the door.

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Jenna

     /  June 19, 2013

    I an grab your ass too IF WE ARE *EVER* IN THE SAME STATE!

    Reply
  2. Michelle S.

     /  June 19, 2013

    i daydream of the day we can do this. Someday! we’ll make it happen.

    Reply
  3. littlehoneybear

     /  June 19, 2013

    I agree! Although, when I first saw the title of this post, I totally thought you were referring to Friends, the show…because I do miss that show. Ha!!!
    :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

