Lucas & Gavin

I think we are finally in the swing of things as it’s now October. Mornings seems to be smoother and both boys have finally settled in to what they want for lunch and snack. Luke can still never decide what he wants for breakfast. He told someone the other day that, “I had only had 3 choices of cereal and one choice of oatmeal this morning.” I think we currently have 8 different cereals, cinnamon bread toast, honey toast, oatmeal, and pop tarts. Do you know what I didn’t have? Waffles. And of course, that’s what he wanted. Gavin wants a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. So he has one for breakfast and lunch. And let’s face it, sometimes dinner too.

Gavin was doing really well with his new school/daycare thing in which I full expected him to be okay with me leaving him. He’s never had an issue. But now he has started crying in the morning. He doesn’t want to go to school, he wants to stay home. He’s only really cried once when we actually got to school and when I left him. Still kills me though. I like to ask my kids a lot of questions. For a long time Gavin’s favorite color was orange, now it’s red. And if you ask what Gavin wants to be when he grows up, he says, “Older than my brother.” Oh man, this one kills me. I reassure him that when Luke is going to be 42 and he’s only going to be 39, he’ll be cool with it and he’ll get all that satisfaction back that he thought he lost when Luke got to do things first. My neighbor and I were just discussing who we think has it worse….the oldest or the youngest? What say you? I say the youngest and she couldn’t decide because she’s the middle. Gavin’s vocabulary is also cracking me up. He says things like, “I want to go STRAIGHT home.” And, “Thank you, mom. I do appreciate it.” Um, what? The other day I told him how his school used to be Luke’s school and he said, “That’s very interesting.” So he’s like 80 and smoking a pipe now? No, he’s not because when he’s really pissed and doesn’t want to do something he says, “NO WAY!” Which I love, as you can imagine.

I took Luke to his 6 year check up the other day. On the way he told me all about the Titanic, the Carpathia, and the Concordia. He’s really into documentaries about ships right now. Sometimes I think he knows more than I do. He really likes to talk but only when he’s comfortable. He’s very interested in how mommy and daddy met. Who asked who to be friends first? How did we know where each other lived? And how did we know we wanted to be friends? He also knows exactly how twins are made because Uncle Mike told him at the sleep over. Well, not how they are made but how they become twins. I learn so much when he and I take our walks together. I walk, he rides his bike, he talks, I listen. I know he wants a laptop and is he old enough? (No) And how old does he have to be for a pocket knife? (30) But Spencer is 10 and he has one. (Hold me) He told me how he no longer sits by Aleeyah because he was a distraction for her and so now she moved to a different table. I asked him why he didn’t have to move and he said, “I have friends at every table mom, duh.” I also learned that he lets the girls chase him on the playground because he thinks it’s fun to run from them. Uh huh. And finally, I learned that he’s “chosen” his sports he’s going to pursue and those are baseball, hockey, and golf.

When we got home Rob asked how the walk was. I said I learn a lot on these walks.

“Like what?”

“Like we are going to be poor.”

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Email me!

    togethertheycome at yahoo dot com
  • History

